MBP 17" Now or Later?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by medelman, Aug 19, 2009.

1. medelman macrumors newbie

No I'm not talking about the candy either. I realize that this is such an open ended question but I'm looking for reasons to why waiting is pointless or on the other hand is a must. I like the look and feel of the current line but I'm concerned about the internals.

My main reasoning behind buying a MBP is to program for the iphone and any new hardware but also to use final cut studio. I also would like to be able to play some more modern games. I need to be able to bootcamp to windows because I am an EE student with the need for some windows apps.

I have been a PC user since the days of dos and the 8086 CPU. I've used Macs (first was Apple IIe) before but never owned one personally. Ironically I've always felt that Macs were overrated especially being an advanced PC user. Before I got an iPhone a few months ago, I thought it was just another phone that was popular because it was Apple but I've come to realize that it is well designed and it just works which is really what Apple is good at.

I see this as a big investment for me even with the student ADC discount so I want to get the most for my money.

From what I understand a cpu refresh of the MBP could happen sooner rather then later that includes the quad core processor and an updated video card? I realize that the core 2 duo line has been out for some time and is reaching the end of its life, but how soon do you think this will happen?

I don't want to play the waiting game forever as that is pointless in the world of computers, but I can at least wait a couple of months if there is thought that they will be refreshed. I have a year left of school so will be able to take advantage of the once in a lifetime discount. I also currently have an X60t table that I have installed windows 7 final on so I will be set for my school needs.