MBP 17" Penryn VS previous chip: HEAT

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ProfGentleGiant, Jun 2, 2008.

1. ProfGentleGiant macrumors newbie

Hello, all. Newbie here, so I apologize in advance if this is a stupid question.

I think I'm going to take the leap and purchase a 17" MBP. There are some pretty amazing discounts now on the pre-Penryn MBPs. My question has to do with HEAT. Stories about MBP heat issues are nearly apocryphal. Is there really a big difference? I'm a professor and I spend long hours typing and using a variety of programs; the MBP will be on my lap for all of it.

Thanks in advance.

Timothy, aka ProfGentleGiant
    [Dead IBook G4; Dead Wallstreet Powerbook G3; currently using brand new--work provided--Dell LED Tablet PC]

2. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

You should see no issues with heat just typing; these computers get hot when you're watching a video, encoding movies, editing pictures; normal usage will not get the computer uncomfortably hot for lap use.

3. squeeks macrumors 68040

squeeks

also most of the heat issues i believe are with 15" models, the 17" has more real estate to spread the heat out better

4. dblissmn macrumors regular

Nothing to worry about, at all.

What I noticed about the Penryn 15s and the 17s in the store is that the extremities of the case, including the bottom, were cooler on the 17. The internal electronics didn't seem much different (yes, I put iStat on a bunch of MBPs in the store . . .). On the other hand, I know which MBP has the coolest running graphics chip I've seen -- my 15 incher. Most of them, both screen sizes by the way, seem to run the graphics chip somewhat warmer than the CPU, which makes sense seeing as it is on a larger die size than the processor. But my GPU only seems to run a degree or two warmer in Celsius than the CPU instead of seven or eight or ten. The Penryn uses a GPU on the same 80nm die size as the Merom/Santa Rosa.