MBP 17" ... right for development... and when?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ReluctantMac, Nov 8, 2010.

1. ReluctantMac macrumors newbie

Ok,

I have been brought kicking and screaming to considering changing my laptop from PC to Mac.

I am a developer, and love MS development technologies. I will continue to develop on them.

Here is what I am considering and need some intelligent, insightful, non-fanboy-esque input:

I will need full HD for my laptop, which immediately brings me to the 17" model.

Furthermore I will be running Windows7 in parallels or vmware and running SQL Server Express, Visual Studio 2010 (development tools), etc on it. (Any input on which suite is currently better and why would be appreciated).

I would be upgrading from Adobe CS4 Master Collection (for PC) to CS5 (for Mac) so the native use won't be a problem there.

I assume that OSX is 64bit and I can run 64bit Windows 7 in VMware...?

It was recommended to me that I get the non-glare screen.

I further plan on newegging (its a new verb) 8g of RAM, and a hybrid 500g HDD.

My main "problem," however, is that currently the Graphics Card is the 330M. From time to time I like gaming and would hate to go "backwards" in graphics card terms. I currently get good framerates in WoW with most graphics turned all the way up and have no problems in FPSs.

Is there any way of knowing how close to the next "update" we are now that they added a new processor but changed nothing else?

Also, the external monitor cables... they have one to DVI and another to dual DVI. I know the Dual DVI is for the huge apple monitor, but can it also be used for dual monitors or is it proprietary to the single huge res monitor?

Any other recommendations for a highly technical person considering the switch? Any gotchas I need to be aware of?

Thanks for your time and input!

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Why does it have to be Full HD? Wouldn't 15" with hi res screen be sufficient?