[MBP] 2.53ghz vs 2.8ghz

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 212rikanmofo, Oct 14, 2008.

1. 212rikanmofo macrumors 65816

I'm having a hard time deciding between the 2. Would I see any differences if I go with the 2.8ghz? I am a graphic designer and photographer. So I use mostly the Adobe apps and Aperture. A little bit of gaming but very rare. If there is hardly any difference I rather save the $300 or so and get the 2.53ghz instead. What do you guys suggest?

2. CoolMacDude macrumors regular

It really depends on the type of processor intensive applications that you run. I would imagine if you are moving RAW formatted images that are substantial in size that you would see a difference.

I recently upgrade my custom gaming computer from a 2.4 Ghz 65nm processor to a 3.0 45nm processor and for gaming it made a phenomenal difference.

It doesn't help you now but sometime in the next week or two I would expect to see some reviews by legitimate computer sites with benchmarks. I opted for the 2.8 but I also sale my notebook and upgrade at least every other revision.

3. Czechmac macrumors regular

It's only ten percent faster. It really depends what you do. If, for example, you add a lot of effects to your work in Photoshop, which needs a lot of raw CPU power then you should get the faster one, but if you don't I think you will be just fine with the 2.53 Ghz.

Also, if I'm not mistaken, Adobe has/or is planning to implement calculation done by GPU (through Cuda), but I'm not sure if or when that is going to come to Macs. The point is, when this happens, you won;t care much about your CPU speed because the GPU is much faster in these mathematical computations.

4. 212rikanmofo thread starter macrumors 65816

2.4 to 3.0ghz seems like a big jump but i am not sure about 2.53ghz to 2.8ghz... doesn't seem like it would make a big difference. decisions decisions, damn! :(

well if its only 10% difference, then i guess i rather save $300 and buy the 2.53ghz model...