MBP 2010 15in.. Need a new battery

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bLaZ3n, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. bLaZ3n macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #1
    I have a mid 2010, MBP 15in 2.4 Ghz Intel Core i5.. I need a new battery.. Ive had my stock battery since I purchased in 2010.

    Now I see this message: "Replace Soon"

    [​IMG]

    What are my best options for a suitable replacement? Prices?
     
  2. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #2
    Apple will do it for you for a fee. Be careful about installing a third-party battery, as it could cause damage. Maybe if you find an OEM Apple battery, it would work ok, but apple doesn't sell them directly.
     
  3. syan48306 macrumors 6502a

    syan48306

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #3
    I believe that just means you hit the charge cycle count. It isn't actually based on the performance of the battery....
     
  4. sunapple macrumors 65816

    sunapple

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Does the battery actually need replacing in your opinion? You could also check the status in more detail with coconutBattery.
     
  5. diggy33 macrumors 6502

    diggy33

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #5
    I had to replace a battery in a 2010 15-inch at the Apple store, and I think it was $129 installed.
     
  6. bLaZ3n thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #6
    Will download this app now

    Thanks, I'll look into that.. but what do you mean by charge cycle count? the maximum?

    Thanks for commenting.

    Do you know how much it cost without installation?
     
  7. funwithdesign macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #7
    No, it's based on how much of the design capacity your battery is holding at 100%.

    For example, my 2010 13" battery originally had 5770mAh when new, it now holds around 80% of that when it's fully charged. My status is still 'good'. I have 382 charge cycles.

    For a while when Mavericks first came out, the OS was reporting mine as lower than that and the status was 'replace soon'. As soon as they fixed things in the OS it has now gone back up and is Good.
     

Share This Page