MBP 2010, GPU PCI-E speed

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by The-Pro, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. The-Pro, Mar 14, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2013

    The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Good evening users,

    I noticed this over 2 years ago but I always forgot to ask about it :D
    I used to run win xp, then vista and since a year I bootcamp to Win7 ultimate 64 bit.
    I have always had GPU-z installed, a program to monitor the GPU and give you detailed information about the GPU (for those who dont know it)
    Under the bus interface section it says PCI-E 2.0x16 @ x16 1.1. a small pop up window when I leave my mouse there says that the card is capable of running PCI-E 2.0 but it uses PCI-E 1.1. Clicking on the ? next to it tells me stuff about power saving features etc and that running the render test should make the card use the the PCI-E 2.0. However no matter how long the render test is running, the readout from GPU-Z doesn't change. When gaming, it also reports its using 1.1
    I have found several tests of the 2010 15" MBP in which there are screenshots of GPU-z and on all of them it just says PCI-E 2.0x16 @ x16. The card seems to be running in PCI-E 2.0, not like mine.

    Can someone install GPU-z on their machine, same model, and tell me your bus interface readout??? I dont understand why its running at pcie 1.1.
    Does anyone have an idea why this is the case?

    Cheers people
     

    Attached Files:

  2. makaveli559m macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #2
    Mine says the same thing mine though is the 256MB version.
     
  3. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    hmmm interesting. All others I found didn't.
    Atleast I know its not only me.

    What happens if you run the render test?
     
  4. makaveli559m macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #4
    I haven't tried the test lol I do a lot of stuff on mine and I havent noticed anything.
     
  5. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    ahh ok.
    ive been using mine like this when gaming and everything. Never noticed it being to slow or anything.
    I was just wondering why its the way it is :D
    3dmark 05 does score nearly 2000 less on mine than on others with identical machines
     

Share This Page