MBP 2011 and M4 SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by yusukeaoki, Nov 11, 2012.

  1. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    Hi guys.
    I installed the M4 this June and it was working flawlessly.
    Until September, I had the write speed of 190mbps and 500mbps read.

    As October came, my Diskspeedtest indicated my SSD getting slower and slower.
    On the initial start up and test of the Blackmagic app, I get 190/500.
    But as the second test goes, it gets slower and slower.
    Around the 5th time, both comes to under 50mbps.

    Is this a problem with my MBP, SSD, or the Blackmagic App?
    I tried setting target disk mode to both my User folder and desktop but no change.
    And yes I am not selecting my Optibay drive.

    Here is the lowest score I got on my SSD.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. pasadena macrumors 6502a

    pasadena

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Location:
    Socal
  3. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    It has been faster than the traditional 7200rpm drive.
    But yes, it does feel like copying files onto Mac become tad bit slower.
     
  4. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
  5. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #5
    Nope, no TRIM and using the old 0309 OFW.
     
  6. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    From what I've read it's easy to downgrade the firmware as long as you've got the disk, why not try upgrading to the current rev? I've got it installed on mine and I haven't had any issues. I'm also using the TRIM enabler, maybe try that first?
     
  7. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    Ill try upgrading to the newest FW.
    Does TRIM really help?
    Ive heard many horrific incidents regarding the use of TRIM.
     
  8. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    I haven't had any issues with either the TRIM enabler or the last two firmwares.

    If I were you I'd just try to enable TRIM first. It's a simple software toggle and easy to disable.

    Either way just make sure your data is backed up!
     
  9. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #9
    Yeah thats the problem.
    All my 2TB and 4TB drives are currently full so I cant take any BU.
    Did you enable TRIM as soon as you got your SSD?
    If not did you see improvement?
     
  10. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    What size SSD do you have? Is it almost full? These drives are supposed to have good garbage collection, therefore there is no need for trim. The new firmware is supposed to improve garbage collection performance. I have had my drive for almost six months now without trim and the drive is as good as new.
     
  11. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #11
    I have the 128GB model.
    But storage is not a problem for me.
    I have couple 2TB external HDDs, 2x LaCie 4TB RAID, and 1TB Optibay.
    My M4 has 72GB of open space.
     
  12. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    I enabled TRIM right after I installed the drive.
     
  13. HKSSS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #13

Share This Page