MBP 2011 MAXED - Froze

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by johnywalker1989, Jan 31, 2014.

  1. johnywalker1989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #1
    Hello, I have a 2011 MacBook Pro Early, with 8G, i7 2.3, 128GB Apple SSD and High-Res display.

    However yesterday for the first time since I bought it, while I was using some apps it started lagging and then one by one all the apps showed not responding. Then I had to press the power button and turn it off.

    After that I tried to open it several times, and it showed 2 times a blue screen many times the gray screen after the logo and 2-3 times a black screen after the logo.

    I did SMC, PRAM reset and many other staff. Finally after 1 hour it opened again and worked normally.

    However after sometime it froze when I had dashboard opened. From that point on (yesterday) it hadn't any other issues.

    1. I run the two hardware tests the short and the long one, and the result was: no problems found.

    2. Is there any possibility that a widget from baldgeeks.com called 3-2-1 could be related with the problems?

    Because from the day I download it I have dashboard opened almost all the time to check.

    3. Before some days I downloaded cleanmymac to remove some apps and did a complete clean as it suggested.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. saturnotaku, Jan 31, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2017

    saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #2
    If your issues started after you installed that widget, it certainly could be the case. However...

    These programs almost always do far more harm than good. There's no telling what kind of damage that program might have done. The only way to be absolutely certain that you're not dealing with a a hardware problem is to back up your data and reinstall OS X. After doing so, run your system without that widget and cleaning program and see if everything is working properly. If it is, you're golden. If not, then you could very well be in the initial throes of the CPU/GPU soldering problems that are quickly manifesting themselves on 2011 MacBook Pros.

    Start with the clean install, though, and see if that doesn't put everything right.
     
  3. johnywalker1989, Jan 31, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2014

    johnywalker1989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #3


    Thanks for your reply.

    Is there any other possible way to be test the GPU/CPU so as to try and reproduce the lag?
     
  4. yjchua95, Jan 31, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2017

    yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    I think Radeongate has hit your 2011 MBP.

    There's a huge number of users with 2011 MBPs with Radeon cards that suffer from GPU failures.

    Your Mac is starting to show the symptoms already (blue/gray screens).
     
  5. johnywalker1989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #5
    That's what I am trying to find out. The fact that it happened under the circumstances that I described makes me think that GPU failure might not be the case.

    If Radeongate was the problem it wouldn't show up under heavy load when I run the hardware test?
     
  6. yjchua95, Jan 31, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2017

    yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    Many people with Radeongate ran AHT without problems, so I wouldn't trust AHT.

    It'd show up under heavy load once or twice first, before showing up more and more frequently (it can range from jagged lines to distortion).
     
  7. johnywalker1989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #7
    It happened again while watching video. The screen turned black and I had to power it off from the button.

    Can anyone translate the message from console? The last lines with smcread must be the exact time that happened.

    1/31/14 6:15:45.269 PM com.apple.NotesMigratorService[228]: Joined Aqua audit session
    1/31/14 6:15:45.284 PM Mail[193]: *** Assertion failure in +[MFMessageRouter junkMailRule], /SourceCache/Mail/Mail-1827/FrameworkTargets/MailFramework/Rules/MFMessageRouter.m:1440
    rules must already be loaded
    (
    0 MailCore 0x000000010285bc8c -[MCAssertionHandler _handleFailureWithPreamble:description:arguments:] + 141
    1 MailCore 0x000000010285bafd -[MCAssertionHandler handleFailureInMethod:eek:bject:file:lineNumber:description:] + 215
    2 Mail 0x000000010261c076 +[MFMessageRouter junkMailRule] + 123
    3 Mail 0x00000001025eaf20 -[MFMailAccount junkMailboxCreateIfNeeded:] + 74
    4 Mail 0x00000001025e763f +[MFMailAccount _specialMailboxesUsingSelector:] + 248
    5 Mail 0x00000001025a49f7 MFExcludedMailboxes + 158
    6 Mail 0x00000001025a4ae5 +[MFLibrary createAllMailboxesSpotlightQueryWithQueryString:attributes:forUnreadCount:withMailboxExclusions:includeWhereFromsCriterion:] + 72
    7 Mail 0x000000010266a19c -[MFSmartMailboxUnreadCountManager _updateSmartMailboxUnreadCountUsingSpotlight:useTotalCount:] + 501
    8 Mail 0x000000010266b03a __91-[MFSmartMailboxUnreadCountManager updateMailboxesUnreadCountUsingSpotlight:useTotalCount:]_block_invoke + 158
    9 Foundation 0x0000000103c76055 -[NSBlockOperation main] + 75
    10 Foundation 0x0000000103c55591 -[__NSOperationInternal _start:] + 631
    11 Foundation 0x0000000103c5523b __NSOQSchedule_f + 64
    12 libdispatch.dylib 0x00000001069e52ad _dispatch_client_callout + 8
    13 libdispatch.dylib 0x00000001069e97ff _dispatch_async_redirect_invoke + 154
    14 libdispatch.dylib 0x00000001069e52ad _dispatch_client_callout + 8
    15 libdispatch.dylib 0x00000001069e709e _dispatch_root_queue_drain + 326
    16 libdispatch.dylib 0x00000001069e8193 _dispatch_worker_thread2 + 40
    17 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0x0000000106ccfef8 _pthread_wqthread + 314
    18 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0x0000000106cd2fb9 start_wqthread + 13
    )
    1/31/14 6:15:45.415 PM Safari[189]: setPresentationOptions called with NSApplicationPresentationFullScreen when there is no visible fullscreen window; this call will be ignored.
    1/31/14 6:15:58.283 PM Console[254]: setPresentationOptions called with NSApplicationPresentationFullScreen when there is no visible fullscreen window; this call will be ignored.
    1/31/14 6:15:58.340 PM PluginProcess[245]: CoreText performance note: Client called CTFontCreateWithName() using name "Times Roman" and got font with PostScript name "Times-Roman". For best performance, only use PostScript names when calling this API.
    1/31/14 6:15:58.340 PM PluginProcess[245]: CoreText performance note: Set a breakpoint on CTFontLogSuboptimalRequest to debug.
    1/31/14 6:15:58.878 PM PluginProcess[245]: CoreText performance note: Client called CTFontCreateWithName() using name "Arial" and got font with PostScript name "ArialMT". For best performance, only use PostScript names when calling this API.
    1/31/14 6:15:59.000 PM kernel[0]: SMC::smcReadKeyAction ERROR: smcReadData8 failed for key B0PS (kSMCKeyNotFound)
    1/31/14 6:15:59.000 PM kernel[0]: SMC::smcReadKeyAction ERROR: smcReadData8 failed for key B0OS (kSMCKeyNotFound)
    1/31/14 6:16:02.932 PM systemstatsd[256]: assertion failed: 13B42: systemstatsd + 4363 [63F86D0F-34D4-3013-B8CC-78A5A4B559A3]: 0xb
    1/31/14 6:16:02.937 PM com.apple.launchd[1]: (com.apple.systemstatsd[256]) Exited with code: 1
     
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Correct me if Im wrong, but I think its causing the problem
    under heavy load because it switches from HD3000 to the Radeon.

    I recently replaced my logic board for the same reason.
    And its funny because it passed all the Apple's diagnostics test.
    But soon as they booted and saw the problem, it went in for a repair.
     
  9. KeegM480 macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #9
    Ive been having the exact same issue for a while. Reinstalling Mavericks seemed to help with the freezing for a while, but it is still running slow.

    If this is true, this is absolute crap! (not your reason, the freezing) My logic board was replaced less than 2 months ago due to a similar issue!
     
  10. johnywalker1989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #10


    What do you mean it is still running slow? After the clean install you had freezing issues?

    Guys, you were on warranty? How the hell did that happened? What should I do..?
     
  11. yusukeaoki, Jan 31, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2017

    yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #11
    I bought AppleCare which lasts until March so thats what I used.
    It would normally cost around 600USD to repair but if you have AC, its free.

    It just happens out of no where. Pure random.
    But when it does happen, there is no way to stop it or fix but repair.

    If you dont have AppleCare, I would prepare some money for the repair.
    And take timemachine backups everyday.
    If you aren't going to use the 2011 MBP anymore, sell it then buy a new one.
     
  12. Swampus, Jan 31, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2017

    Swampus macrumors 6502

    Swampus

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Location:
    Winterfell
    #12
    Some folks with the 2011 GPU problem have had their replacement board/s fail in the same way. Some folks have gone through several boards.

    But I agree with saturnotaku that it makes sense to try a clean install here. You may not have a hardware problem.
     
  13. johnywalker1989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #13
    I don't have AppleCare and I payed so much money to not pay again after 2-3 years.

    That's what I will do first. From the time that I turned off automatic switching it stopped so we'll see
     

Share This Page