MBP 2016 owners: RAM bandwidth

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by leman, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #1
    As our new MBPs have not arrived yet, could some MBP 2016 owners (doesn't matter which model) run a RAM benchmark using http://www.memtest86.com and report the results (and your machine)? The memtest86 is a bit more cumbersome to run (you need to restore the image to a USB stick and boot from there), but it provides accurate results. It would be really cool of some of you guys would find the time to do it!

    Explanation: I am confused about the RAM benchmarks results in Geekbench — they seem to be significantly worse than the previous-gen MBP. I'd like to know whether its a problem with Geekbench or whether the RAM is indeed slower.
     
  2. monkeydax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #2
    Yeah i'm kinda wondering also, what's up with the RAM bandwidth scores we're getting on Geekbench??
     
  3. Ries macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #3
    No Iris Pro aka embedded RAM to cache the iGPU. The iGPU needs bandwidth to work now.
     
  4. sleim031 macrumors member

    sleim031

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Location:
    London UK | Zagreb CRO
    #4
  5. fokmik macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    i dont find the HD 530
    the Intel(R) Iris(TM) Pro Graphics 6200 has a score 25939
     
  6. monkeydax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #6
    Intel HD Graphics 530 - 17238

    Intel(R) Iris(TM) Pro Graphics 5200
    - 12722

    Do a cmd+f to find these. The Haswell processors only have the Iris Pro 5200 and not the 6200. So hmm. HD Graphics 530 > Iris Pro 5200?
     
  7. fokmik macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    you own already an 15" MBP? if yes, how is your battery? on surfing the web for example
     
  8. leman thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #8
    There is obviously either an issue with the driver or an issue with geekbench. There is no way that hd 530 is faster than 5200
     
  9. monkeydax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #9
    Nope I don't, still trying to figure out if the 2016 model is any much better than the mid 2015 one!
    --- Post Merged, Nov 15, 2016 ---
    We'll see if more benchmarks come in, but for now, could it be the two generations later HD Graphics 530 almost catches up with the Iris Pro just for this OpenCL test?
     
  10. leman thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #10
    Any test they shows 530 faster than 5200 is a crappy test and should be discarded from making any kind of judgement. Of course ther might be isolated things where 530 is faster because of its newer architecture, but Geekbench strives to be representative.
     

Share This Page