MBP - 64 bit ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 4now, Feb 4, 2008.

  1. 4now macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #1
    I'm pretty sure my MacBook Pro SR 2.2 is 64 bit. But where does it tell me that. Also when I did an erase and install upgrade of leopard - I was never asked. I don't see Leopard advertised as 32 or 64 bit

    obviously I don't know what I'm talking about

    But since I've just ordered 4G of ram I guess I should be sure
    isn't that essential for it to take that amount

    thanks
     
  2. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #2
    I am pretty sure all Intel Macs are 64 bit. The G5 I think was too...
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Not all intel Macs are 64 bit, but all with Core 2 Duo processors are (and yes, the G5 was as well).

    And there's no need to chose either 32/64 bit, as both are contained within the single version.
     
  4. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #4
    Only the Intel Core 2 Duos are 64-bit. Regular Core Duo aren't. The OS (Leopard/Tiger) are compatable for 64-bit so you can take advantage with the 4+GB of Ram.
     
  5. 4now thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007

Share This Page