mbp and time capsule

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BeyondMountains, Jun 27, 2012.

  1. BeyondMountains macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #1
    Does anyone use this combination? How do you like it?

    I currently have the option to buy a used Time Capsule (4th gen 2TB) for $150.00 and test it out for a day.

    Is there anyway to test the health of the hdd inside? From my research, I've found that the hdd is tested automatically upon boot up and will notify you if there are issues.

    Are there are any other ways of checking?
     
  2. FastEddiebags macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    I've never been very good at backing my data up myself, so that's why I love my time capsule. Data transfer is slow but what do you expect with wifi.
     
  3. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #3
    Yeah this solution seems ideal and for the asking price of $150 but I just want to make sure I'm not buying a dud
     
  4. Seamaster macrumors 65816

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #4
    Connecting it using Ethernet speeds things up.

    It's the only way to do the initial backup without losing the will to live.
     
  5. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #5
    Its connected to my router via ethernet. wifi for the rMBP

    any recommendation on scanning the clusters for problems?
     
  6. ggmissmolly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #6
    I have been using a Time Capsule with MBP since 09 without any difficulty. I am especially happy with how easy the router sets up. My previous experience (admittedly over 3 years ago) with setting up a D-Link router left me drinking heavily (not necessarily a bad thing).

    I would suggest that you compare the price of the used one with a new one. You're paying too much. I'd offer $50 max. On these relatively cheap things most people buy new leaving the used market pretty weak. Where else would the owner sell his TC?
     
  7. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #7
    It apparently is never used. When installing time machine, it didn't show any remains of an old back up but that could have been an easy delete. $50 for a 2tb seems too low.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    I am away from home, so can't confirm, but I believe if you install the older, full version of Airport Utility from here... in the Time Capsule tab there is a section there where you can reformat and check the drive.

    This more full featured version of Airport Utility can reside side by side in the Utilities folder with the new slimmed down version of Airport Utility.

    That is a pretty good price.

    Like others mentioned, do the first backup wired so it will be faster, then subsequent wireless backups are pretty quick. TC works perfectly for me with my MBP.
     
  9. Soulweaponry macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    #9
    I've thought about getting a time capsule for awhile but all the damn negative reviews on apple.com/amazon.com/bestbuy.com threw me off. It almost seemed like everybody came to a consensus that a time capsule will die just after a year.

    Still...i really want one. Just can't have it die on me
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    That seems to be more an issue with the older ones. Supposedly the newer models have a better design internally that will not die so soon. Forum complaints about early deaths do seem to have pretty much dropped to almost nothing.
     
  11. ugp macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #11
    I have a 2TB Time Capsule that my iMac, MBP, and MBA all backup to. I love it. I've never had any issues with it at all. Time Capsule is suppose to warn you via AirPort utility if there are any problems and the light on the unit will turn from green to Blinking Amber if there is a problem as well.

    I exclude certain folders from my backups though. Like my downloads folder. Usually if I download something once I install it I either move it to an external for keeping or delete it altogether and don't need that stored on the Backup.
     
  12. FastEddiebags macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #12
    Do you have AppleCare?
     
  13. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #13
    nope and no receipt
     

Share This Page