MBP as a desktop replacement

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Marv(Ger), Feb 21, 2008.

1. Marv(Ger) macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

I am new here and I hope I am right here (since I'm new to mac).
    my dad and my mom both work with macs and i just love the os.
    I started my apple history with an ipod photo, had a 2G Shuffle and since october I am a proud owner of a 16 GB ipod Touch (1.1.3 + JB ;))
    Now, finally, I want to get rid of my windows pc and get a mac.

So i got a couple of questions, since i am considering that a MBP replaces my tower pc.

Thats my PC:
    Some AGP mainboard
    Pentium 4 2,4 Ghz
    1 GB RAM
    ati radeon x1600pro
    and windows xp

hooked to that is a 19" Samsung Flatscreen (Syncmaster 191T, pretty old but sufficient), a Logitech keyboard, a logitech mx revolution (mouse) and a logitech 5.1 sound system.
    My pc also has a tv card in it, the software is Dscaler, but it sucks big time (freezes, sometime it just shuts down and mute doesnt work and so on.)

I mainly use my PC to watch TV, surf the internet, chat, itunes + ipod and pro evolution soccer 2008 :cool:

I want to throw my tower out (maybe sell it to a friend) and set up a little "dock" for a mbp, in which i put the notebook and than connect it to a usb hub, my mouse (works with mac, i checked ;)) my flatscreen, my keyboard, my soundsystem and so on (of course power too)

i tried my keyboard and mouse with my dads powerbook, they both work.
    My biggest concern is the soundsystem, it ends in three cables (orange, green and black) and go in my soundcard in the pc, but a MBP doesnt have those plugs....so can i get an adapter or do i have to buy a new soundsystem?
    The other connections will work fine, right?

a mbp will have zooooming speed against by pc above, wont it? where will i see that? which graphic card is better, mbp or mine above?