MBP Boot Camp : Sharing files between OSX and Windows

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by awegew, Mar 15, 2013.

1. awegew macrumors newbie

I'm getting a MBPr. I want to share some files between OSX and Windows. Is that possible with boot camp? I'm intending to encrypt the hard drive so I'm not sure if that will complicate things. Any advice appreciated.

2. awegew thread starter macrumors newbie

That must be a record. 500 views and not a single comment?

3. Arnezie macrumors 65816

Arnezie

4. Still100 macrumors regular

Apparently you can setup Parallels to view the bootcamp partition but Im new to the rMBP so that's all I can tell you right now.

5. zakee00 macrumors regular

zakee00

...huh? Macintosh HD shows up for me in Boot Camp Win 7. The problem is that the Boot Camp partition is read-only from OSX (this is fixable with 3rd party NTFS software, which I got for free) and there is a program called MacDrive for Windows that enables full read/write to your OSX partition from Windows. I don't know about encryption, but it is very possible to set the two partitions up to access each other.

6. MacKid macrumors 6502

The partitions actually can "see" each other, and you can pull files from your Windows existence to your Mac side at will. Doing the opposite is a little trickier, but if you have an external drive or USB stick of any kind, it can be easier than wrangling system-level user permissions or third party apps.

7. iVikD macrumors regular

iVikD

Yes it can, like MacKid said, your Windows partition is visible from OSX as read only and vice versa. Someone suggested MacDrive, which goes installed on Windows, and it works just fine, I have it installed myself. Another solution would be to have a 3rd partition and use that as a shared media/documents partition. If you choose to do that, I recommend formatting it to exFAT

8. dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007