MBP Buying Options - Hard Drive / Memory

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by daisu, Jun 7, 2007.

1. daisu macrumors member

Howdy,

I’m an aspiring Media Studies student and intend on using a MBP for video editing using Final Cut Studio. I’m new to the Mac world as I’ve been a lifelong PC user.

Thankfully I put off buying the laptop for a few weeks and see, now, that they’ve updated the specs of the MBP. Now may be the time to buy. I still have some questions about my upgrade options.

Even though I will use my MBP editing studio with an external hd I’m still of the mindset that faster hds are better. I noticed that the 160gb 7200hd is 80$ more and I think adds 3-4 weeks of ship time onto the machine. Do any video people feel a 5400 drive is fast enough as a systems disk or should I aim for a faster drive?

Also, I was wondering what are my hd options outside of Apple? I’ve heard some people speak of larger capacity drives that have decent to fast speeds (5400-7200rpm). I’m also new to laptops and understand that there are different sized drives but don’t know what I need to technically look for when it comes to laptops (MBPs in particular).

I understand if I buy a hd outside of Apple I’ll have to take it to an Apple Store to have it installed.

I would also like to take advantage of the SR upgrade and install 4gbs of RAM (if possible) and was wondering how much prices are for 2gb chips (outside of Apple). Also, what would I be able to do with the 1gb mem chips left over. Is there a decent resell market for them?

I really want to buy now (17” with the upgraded resolution) but was wondering if anyone thought waiting for 17” LED screens are worthwhile. Any estimates on when they’ll ship?

Thanks for your help.
    daisu

2. zioxide macrumors 603

zioxide

Hitachi just released a 200GB 7200rpm drive.. I'm not sure if it's shipping yet or not.

3. Illicit macrumors 6502

4. wallaby macrumors 6502

wallaby