MBP + Crucial M4 = good / bad?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mark28, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #1
    Since OS X Lion has no Trim, it's a bad idea to install a Crucial M4 into a MBP?

    Will it also be a problem to install a SATA-600 SSD on a SATA-300 connection?
     
  2. hashholly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #2
    From what i've gathered from what i've read on macrumors, you should be fine with no trim enabled, make sure you have the latest firmware for the M4.
     
  3. Eradik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #3
    Though there is a hack to enable Trim on 3rd party drives. I've heard it sometimes can cause problems, but have also read people having great luck with it.
     
  4. ljacky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Orange, CA
    #4
    I am very happy with the M4 128GB in my MacBookPro8,1. I installed it on Tuesday did a time machine restore and it has been working great with lion. Cold boot up in about 20 seconds. Office apps load in about a second.
     
  5. Jazwire macrumors 6502a

    Jazwire

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    I have a M4 in my 2011 MacBook Pro, it works great and I have trim enabled as well.
     
  6. hashholly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #6
    Any problems with trim?
     
  7. Jazwire macrumors 6502a

    Jazwire

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  8. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #8
    Likewise and no problems here either.
     

Share This Page