MBP Display problems

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jdsipod, May 23, 2012.

  1. jdsipod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    Sometime ago I had the screen replaced on my 2011 MBP at an Apple Store and now I am having some problems with it. Sometimes after I am logged off of my computer the screen will go all black, but when you start moving the mouse, little squares start showing up wherever the mouse is on the screen. I can log in just fine but it is like the screen is not displaying the background very well. I have a picture of this as well, and I know that I haven't really explained it well, but I hope that the picture will help.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    Seems like you have a massive dead pixels...
    Go to Apple and get it replaced ASAP!
    They might give you a new machine.
     
  3. jdsipod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #3
    the thing is that as soon as you log in to the computer, the screen goes back to normal, and you can use it just fine
     
  4. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #4
    I've seen this a couple of times on 2 different MBPs, one a 2008 and one an early 2011. A reboot/power cycle cleared it up.
     
  5. jdsipod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #5
    It happens to me about three times a week, so I was wondering if there is a permanent fix to this
     
  6. goRoostr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    Philadelphia Suburbs
    #6
    Its not his screen, dead pixels wouldn't disappear and reappear, they are permanent. Its either a graphics processor/ firmware issue. See if you are due for a firmware upgrade. Otherwise try the almight SMC reset and see if it helps.
    This link below for firmware upgrades
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1237
     
  7. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    Yeah after his reply I noticed that.
    Either way, he probably can get it replaced by Apple.
    I say its his graphics card then.
     
  8. goRoostr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    Philadelphia Suburbs
    #8
    I agree, if its still under Apple Care and you have an Apple store close by, let them deal with it. If you want to troubleshoot yourself try what I said in my previous post. Only problem is that the Apple Genius will have to mimic the issue, which probably wont happen because it never works out like you want it too. Either way, good luck.
     
  9. jdsipod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA

Share This Page