MBP External display issues (I can't use and external display properly)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Gordy, Aug 5, 2007.

  1. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #1
    Hi

    I currently have a macbook pro (1st gen), a mac mini and a pc. I currently use my macbook pro for emails/calender address book etc and for work on the go at clients, the pc gets used for all my day to day stuff.

    What I am considering doing is getting rid of my pc completly and just having the laptop. I have a dell 2407fpw lcd hooked up to my pc and I would like to use this on my macbook pro. However the only way I can get to use it is as either a mirror of my main display or in addition to the built in display.

    I've tried turning it on and shutting the lid but the main display is still selected as on. I think it is related to my sleep issues. If I close the lid the mbp will not go to sleep I have to either go through the menu or use the power button.

    Any ideas what's causing this? Its just outside warrantee, I've searched for other threads about the sleep issue and tried reseting the power and video units as well as looking for anything running that is keeping it awake.

    I think it maybe down to the lid switch not detecting that the display is closed? Is this easy/cheap to fix if so?
     
  2. devman macrumors 65816

    devman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    AU
    #2
    I think you'll find it's not the latch. There's magnets used inside that tell the thing it can now sleep (at least that's how it used to be. I am assuming it's the same on an MBP).

    If this is the case, then it's not a huge repair job.
     
  3. Gordy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #3
    The magnets and latch seem to work fine so I assume whatever sensor is in there to detect if its closed is faulty?

    I think it sounds like it will need a trip into my local apple reseller to see what's going on, but I'd rather avoid that as for my mac mini it took them 10 days to even look at it. I can't be without it for that long.
     
  4. devman macrumors 65816

    devman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    AU
    #4
    The sensor is (well it used to be) a pair of magnets. If they are not aligned, then it won't sleep. As I said, I am assuming MBPs use the same system; I don't know that they do for a fact.
     
  5. Gordy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #5
    Ah hopefully it will be nice and cheap to fix then ! Yay Thanks
     
  6. devman macrumors 65816

    devman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    AU
    #6
    Well they can test this theory (as can you if you're brave enough) in two secs by placing a magnet in the right place on the case.

    Edit: here you go. Check this and then look at the comment by bollman underneath all the photos.

    http://www.takeitapart.net/archives/macbook-pro/

     
  7. Gordy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #7
    That is very helpful indeed. Using a very week magnet I was able to get the display to sleep. So its obviously something to do with the sensor.

    Thank you very much for your help!
     
  8. devman macrumors 65816

    devman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    AU
    #8
    If you placed a magnet on the top case in the right position and the MBP slept, then the switch is working. That means the magnet in the lid is out of position.
     
  9. Gordy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #9
    That's what I assumed, but I discovered if I press lightly down on the lid in the area of the magnet, it would go to sleep. So I will do that for the time being and see how I get on.

    When I summon up the bravery I will take the mbp apart and see what's happened to the magnet next to the display. I'm tempted to find a very small low power stick on magnet for a pro temp solution as well.

    Thank you again for all your help. :)
     

Share This Page