MBP + external screen + 2 sets of keyboard/mice = possible?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by EvryDayImShufln, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #1
    Hey guys

    I have an SR MBP, and an external monitor. What I'm looking to do is to set up a mouse and keyboard, one for the laptop's monitor, and one for the external one. The reason is because I don't like to constantly switch the mouse between the displays, plus the external monitor is being used almost as a separate computer. Does anybody know if some software would permit this, or if this is possible in some way?

    Thanks in advance!

    Oh and to sort out any confusion, this would entail that each mouse would work ONLY on that screen. Aka if you were to try to drag it into the other screen, this would not be possible.
     
  2. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
  3. EvryDayImShufln thread starter macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #3
    How would this be done though? Any software you know of?
     
  4. Trepex macrumors 6502a

    Trepex

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #4
    umm... really? And have them independently control a single screen? I seriously doubt this.
     
  5. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #5
    I was thinking the opposite, lol. SORRY!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  6. EvryDayImShufln thread starter macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #6
    This would honestly be pretty useful. Like why have 1 very powerful computer when you can run 2 screens and technically 2 accounts of it?

    Like when parents buy a PC for each of their kids, instead they can one PC and split it up. It'd be cool

    Too bad it doesn't exist I guess
     
  7. dynamic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #7
    You can do this easily with Windows, but I don't believe it's possible (without much hassle) on OSX. The only thing I can think of is 2 virtual installations, or using VNC in an elaboate way...
     
  8. Trepex macrumors 6502a

    Trepex

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #8
    How does one do this with Windows?
     
  9. dynamic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #9

Share This Page