MBP for Music Production

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by trojanwr21, Dec 21, 2012.

1. trojanwr21 macrumors newbie

Ok, just a quick background. My wife's younger sister is into music (she's in a band) and wants a MBP to do her recording etc. I have no experience with Macs in general but from what I understand, music would be more processor intensive.

We are debating whether to get her a 13" MBP (non retina) or a MBA. It doesn't seem that she'll be using any graphics intensive programs. She's in college right now so the most she'll probably use it for is for internet, word processing, excel, etc. in addition to her music stuff.

I guess my question would be (for you music people out there), what would be the better route to take. Due to budget concerns, we are ruling out the 15" MBP. Does the 13" make sense or should we just save up for the 15" and have her wait a little longer?

Thanks in advance for your opinions.

2. derbothaus macrumors 601

derbothaus

For most music projects, especially beginners, any current Mac will suffice. If she is in a band even more so as you will rely less on software instruments and more just 'recording' and playing back audio with some plugins on the tracks for effect (compressor, EQ, phase, etc.) Disk I/O may be more important so an Air with SSD makes more sense than the standard HDD in the 13" Pro. Unless you buy the pro and upgrade the HDD yourself to SSD. That is another option. HDD is 80-120MB/s, SSD is 250-500MB/s.

Processor Geekbench Scores.
    MBA: 6100-7000 (1.8GHz i5 - 2.0GHz i7)
    MBP 13": 6600-7900 (2.5GHz i5 - 2.9GHz i7)
    Not much difference.

Get at least the 256GB SSD though on any of the models. 128GB is too little for samples and things.

3. Ploki macrumors 68000

I do professional music production on my 4y old c2d 2.53ghz which scores around 3000 on geekbench.:)

4. noiseordinance macrumors regular