MBP & gaming. Don't placate me: this is important.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by happysymptom, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. happysymptom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #1
    First post,

    I'll start by saying that, so far, this forum has been very helpful in answering all of my MBP related questions.
    This question, however, won't change my mind either way. I do understand that, really - one can only speculate at this point.

    Starcraft 2 on the latest MBP.


    There, I said it. Now tell me I am/am not crazy.

    -Corey
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Wait for the system requirements and the game to come out.

    I'm not quite as clairvoyant as I want to be.
     
  3. chem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #3
    This is almost a metaphysical certitude. Blizzard has a very good track record of releasing recent stuff for Mac and their games have very low absolute requirements compared to the rest of the industry.
     
  4. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

    chrmjenkins

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    Right, it's Nintendo's assumption that graphics don't make the game, the gameplay does ;)
     
  5. dawgfang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    Did you ask a question? Did you make a statement? Please tell us.
     
  6. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #6

    Im sorry but anyone that KNOWS Blizzard and has seen the screenshots knows that SC2 will definately run well on older and newer equipment.

    One needs only look at WoW for Blizzard's model. they want all their games played by not only hardcore fans but the casual gamer. Casual gamers have crap computers.... nuff said.
     
  7. sniperhunter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    generally speaking ALabama.
    #7

    Bravo!
     
  8. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #8
    I am pretty confident that the current MBP will greatly exceed the recommended specs for SC2. It wouldn't surprise me in the least if it was playable on a late-model iBook.
     
  9. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #9
    HEY!!! I'm a casual gamer and when I bought my last windows machine it was NOT a crap computer, it's was pretty damn good.

    But I do get the gest of your statement. Yes Blizzard has always done a good job with their games in supporting older configurations when they put a game out.

    Wow may lag up even at low settings but that's more network than graphics card. I would say it's a safe bet that it'll run or at least can be configured to run.

    Regardless, the 'nuff said' pretty much sums it up.
     
  10. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #10
    I'm sure they'll make it at least run on integrated video..so this should definitely at least run it..prob around medium settings with a good framerate.
     
  11. Bubba Satori Suspended

    Bubba Satori

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    B'ham
    #11
    Half of Korea will cease to function when Starcraft II comes out. They will be gaming zombies 24/7. Anderson Cooper will do an expose on Korea's national video game tradgedy of lost souls. Larry King Presents will interview brain dead Korean gamer champion, How Far Park. ;)
     
  12. happysymptom thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #12
    Thanks for the replies. Although I'm sorry I asked - the answer is obvious.
     
  13. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #13
    Am I the only Korean that thinks Starcraft is boring??

    :cool:
     
  14. Chaggi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #14
    One of the reasons why Starcraft has remained popular is that it's so easy to get into, with minimum system requirements that are rediciously low. Starcraft II will continue that trend. Blizzard tends to make games that are great in quality, and stylistic graphics wise, instead of pure Cyrsis type graphics.
     
  15. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #15
    No, because the game is insanely interesting with countless strategies and perfectly balanced.
     
  16. willcodejavafor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #16
    You sure you are Korean?
     
  17. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #17
    You are.

    Pro starcraft is gosuuuuuuuuu :D
     
  18. Apogee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #18
    Let's not get over ourselves here...
     
  19. KhaKha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #19
    Blizzard always make quality games with unbelievable low requirement compared to other game company,
    I got Warcraft 3 play in GMA 950 with all setting high with no lags at all .
     
  20. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #20
    Then again warcraft 3 is 5+ year old lol
     
  21. saltyzoo macrumors 65816

    saltyzoo

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #21
    Not really.
     
  22. sniperhunter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    generally speaking ALabama.
    #22
    I once asked about gaming on a mbp- a very inteligent user summed the answers up this way :

    that being said, Im sure the a mbp can run Starcraft 2. do some math here

    for world of warcraft
    1) it cost 13.99 a month
    2) there are atleast 5,000,000 players world wide
    3) 13.99 times 5,000,000 = $69,950,000(x) a month.
    4) (x) times 12 months = $839,400,000(y)

    how many of the 5mill players use computers that could run crysis? im not a betting man, but i think blizard knows that if they take the time, they can make a very high quality game- with very decent graphics, and make a lot of money. Now i realize that STC2 is not a MMORPG. none the less

    STC2 will work on a MBP!
     

Share This Page