MBP - Glossy/Matte?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by agojes, Jan 26, 2008.

1. agojes macrumors member

Hi all,

This is my first time writing in the forum.
    I'm about to buy a MBP. However, can't decide whether I should go for glossy or the regular matte screen.
    I saw from the guide that the glossy will give you rich colors.

I know that it's on paper technologically wise. What I would like is, some inputs on from you people who experience the difference between the matte and glossy screen.
    How will the screen fare to you and how about reflection and stuffs like that? Is it worth it to go for glossy?

I recently purchased the 20" 2.4GHz Alu iMac. I know it has a glossy screen. However, I can't really compare that screen with the laptop one as I'm going to take the laptop along with me to different places.

FYI: from where I come from, to get the the glossy screen MBP, I would have to 'special order' it and wait for another 2 to 3 weeks to get the item. (I know it sucks). And that brings me to another question for you guys. Is it really worth it to upgrade the drive size to 200GB 7200RPM? I don't mean the size, but the rotation speed.

What are the advantages of having higher rotation speed for this particular MBP, and what are some issues that I might have to deal with or that I might have to know beforehand? For instance, heat issue maybe or noise?

Because if I have to special order the MBP to get the glossy screen, I might as well upgrade the Hard Drive to 200GB 7200RPM one.

Thank you all,
    Any inputs will be much appreciated.

BTW: if I just go for the regular matte screen, I have no problem getting the item instantly.

2. IEatApples macrumors 6502a

IEatApples

Well, it all depends on the type of work you're gonna use it for?

If you're a professional photographer you should probably stay far away from the glossy, but if you're just a regular "internet user" I think you'll be fine with it. :)