MBP GPU reset?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by comatory, Nov 5, 2014.

  1. comatory macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #1
    I'm having complete system lockdowns which seems to be GPU related. After powering up the system I even get a message that there was a graphics error.

    This happens when I run Premiere Pro CC few times a day it's annoying trying to do the work. I am using Mercury playback engine w/ CUDA drivers v. 6.5.18 which should be compatible with OS X Yosemite (at least that's what is on Nvidia's page).

    This is my crash report:
    [​IMG]

    Any idea how to fix this?
     
  2. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #2
    A new logic board.
     
  3. comatory thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #3
    Are you speaking from personal experience? I just want to be sure before I bring it in.
    I'm running OS X Yosemite and I get GPU glitches like other people, it seems to be SW based.
     
  4. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #4
    If it was a 2012, I would've said a new logic board. But on a 750M? That makes it a late 13 or mid 14.

    Can you put Mavericks on a portable HD, run from that and see if the problem goes away?

    If so it's software.

    If not, it's genius bar time.
     
  5. comatory thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #5
    Yep I'm running late 2013 MBP w/ 750M and 2GB VRAM. putting Mavericks on external doesn't sound as bad idea... I'll try that thanks.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Try Mavericks all things being equal, if that doesn't solve the problem its probably hardware related and that does mean a new logic board.
     
  7. comatory thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #7
    yep that's the plan. i still have a hunch this might be software based. all the glitching and freezing happened when running Adobe apps.. or it might be CUDA. doing clean install of Mavericks on weekend.
     
  8. sekoitus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #8
    Let us know how it turns out.

    I've got a Late '13 MBPr 15" as well, with Nvidia 750, and I've experienced similar graphics kernel panics a couple of times.

    Usually when using Photoshop CS6. Once when I opened up VLC.

    Yosemite here as well.
     
  9. JoelTheSuperior macrumors 6502

    JoelTheSuperior

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    I've experienced the same issue with my late 2013 MacBook Pro with Retina display.

    Of note I don't recall experiencing it with Mavericks so I think it's certainly possible that it's driver related.

    Of course, if anyone here does discover it to be a motherboard fault let me know so I can go and moan at Apple's support.
     
  10. comatory thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #10
    I'll be installing Mavericks on the weekend. If I'm getting graphical glitches, it's going back to Apple. I still think it might be software related. GPU glitches are present with and without Adobe apps running, it just seems they appear sooner when I'm doing some GPU load.
    I also have CUDA driver v. 6.5.18 installed. Although it says it's compatible w/ Yosemite, it might be the culprit as well. I'll try Mavericks without CUDA first and then with the driver installed. We'll see ...

    If it's caused by Yosemite, I'm waiting at least for 10.10.2 to install.
     
  11. comatory thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #11
    OK so guys little update. I did a clean install of Mavericks 10.9.5. Running it for about 90 mins now and it's been super stable and no GPU glitches. I've tried all my work tasks, first without CUDA driver and the with the driver. I haven't got a single glitch, even w/ many apps open. 3D Ray tracer in AE gives me no issues and I got no system freeze.

    (Knocking on wood) - I don't wanna jinx it but it seems that Yosemite is just too unstable for me, we'll see how well it fares in my normal workday. Yesterday it went without glitches for first three or four hours so there is slight possibility that they might appear. But for now it's all good.
     
  12. sekoitus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #12
    I have continued to experience GPU crashes with Photoshop CC 2014.

    Yosemite 10.10.1.

    After the crash (i.e. after force restarting the computer), Photoshop tells me the following:

    [​IMG]


    It does not crash at all if GPU support is disabled in Photoshop's Preferences, but after I re-enable it, it will eventually always crash when opening Photoshop. It doesn't always, but once or twice a week and I use PS daily.

    So the question is... Are you still using Mavericks? And you still haven't experienced crashes?

    One would hope Apple would fix this for Yosemite...
     
  13. comatory thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #13
    I'm still on Mavericks and it's working quite well. I got no GPU glitches, I get occasional freeze but they are related to Adobe software, not the system itself. There has to be an issue with display driver. My boss switched to Yosemite as well and few days ago we noticed the glitches as well (they happen even when not using Adobe stuff).

    For now, I'm gonna stay on Mavericks. I might be tempted to try it once 10.10.2 comes out but honestly... I will probably not upgrade until I have to. I'm thinking of skipping Yosemite alltogether and installing OS X 10.11 when it comes out. All the kinks might be ironed out by then.
     
  14. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #14
    Yosemite has a bug in the NVIDIA drivers which cause this problem to happen. The 650Ms in the Ivy Bridge rMBPs were somewhat affected too.
     
  15. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #15
    I'd say make sure you have a solid backup. Personally, if you were getting those lockups with Yosemite, I'd hold off until 10.11 comes out and even them make sure it's less buggy then 10.10
     
  16. Riccardo83 macrumors member

    Riccardo83

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Location:
    Berlin
    #16
    Have u guys tried El Capitan ? I get a few GPU resets everyone and then. Not Adobe related. Sometimes this happens when I get the beach ball, freezing for 2-3 seconds....

    not often at all but i do get it.

    hw or sw? what is it? jesus apple....
     

Share This Page