MBP Graphics Problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TSE, Mar 10, 2008.

  1. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #1
    I am trying to run Age of Empires: II Mac Edition on my MBP with the specs below. It goes through the into movie great, but then goes to the desktop and has a window that says,"Could not initialize graphics system. Make sure that your video card and driver are compatible with DirectDraw.

    Error."

    Any fix?
     
  2. davinche macrumors regular

    davinche

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #2
    I read somewhere you need to set the resolution to 800x600 for the game to start...
     
  3. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
  4. dmb3886 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
  5. sparrowhawk13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #5
    Having the EXACT same issue trying to play AoE II on my Penryn system (same specs). I tried installing the 1.0.5 patch, which enables you to switch to 256 color mode and disable intro vids (which work fine), but that just gives me a different error. Something about "DrawSprocket cannot switch to the selected resolution (800x600, 8-bit, 1 buffer(s))" My monitor DOES switch to 800x800, and selecting the 256 color option should disable the default 'thousands' color setting, but I'm still having no luck. Which error is easier to fix, the direct draw or the draw sprocket?
     
  6. tmac33 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #6
    I am having the EXACT same problem. I called Macsoft Support and they had no idea.
     
  7. padré macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #7
    age of empires III

    I'm expierencing an equal problem with age of empires III, I start up run the game for 3 minutes and then it just freezes, unable to do anything, forced to shut down the computer and restart it, any suggestions ?
     
  8. kutxitril macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #8
    Any suggestion to "800x600, 8 bit, 1 buffer(s)" problem?
     

Share This Page