MBP HD 'Ticking' Is Driving Me Insane

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sdao, Feb 20, 2008.

1. Sdao macrumors 6502

Ever since I installed Leopard, my hard drive (which is located under my left palm as I am typing this) has been making this ridiculous ticking noise. It sounds like its processing data, therefore the noise occurs every half a second.

This is driving me absolutely insane. I'm a university student, my desk is about 5 feet from where I sleep and I can no longer sleep with the computer on. I turn it off at night to spare myself from hearing the ticking as I go to sleep.

It's obviously the hard drive that is causing this ticking noise. Is there anyway to stop it?!!?

2. MacUser1 macrumors 6502

MacUser1

If it's loud ticking, I'd back up your data immediately.

3. gusapple macrumors 6502a

gusapple

Wait for an SSD drive to come out for Macbook Pro?

4. Sdao thread starter macrumors 6502

I back my data up consistently. Its not loud, its fairly faint but I can hear it if there isn't too much background noise going on.

5. Sdao thread starter macrumors 6502

I already spent generously on this laptop. I was just wondering if there are any immediate solutions (i.e. repairing the drive via software) that would remove this annoying ticking sound?

6. gusapple macrumors 6502a

gusapple

I know that this sounds like I have no immediate answers, but if you take it to the Apple Store, tell them what is going on, then ask what you can do, they will most likely do something about it. I personally can say that this used to happen with my eMac and I had to live with it. I do have a question, does the hard drive make that noise while it's in sleep mode?

7. Sdao thread starter macrumors 6502

No, it does not make the noise while in sleep mode. I'm looking into buying a new drive (I'm slowly running out of HD space) however, if I decide to stick with what I've got, I will definitely bring it to the apple store.