MBP Internal Arhitecture

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by manapple, Mar 18, 2011.

1. manapple macrumors member

Hi, I am a student of computer science, and for my last semester I have to deliver a seminar on any topic. Any topic (however, it must be detailed enough). Recently I got a MBP and wanted to talk to my class about the internal architecture of the MBP. Any ideas where I could get info, or what I should be talking about. Any suggestions?

Thanks.

2. Heilage macrumors 68030

Heilage

For complete teardowns and detailed looks at the internals, you can head over to iFixIt and check out their disassembly guides. If you're talking about spec sheets and more detailed information, you might have to check with Apple.

3. old-wiz macrumors G3

It would be interesting to see how deeply you want to go into the internal architecture. Are you going to try to explain how the Intel processor works? Or the wi-fi chips? You could do a whole book on just the processor.

4. manapple thread starter macrumors member

OKay, so here's the deal. I am new to the mac but people keep telling me how its so awesome as compared to windows, because of its supporting hardware, and architecture. So I want to explain this to a classroom full of 40 students 10 teachers at the masters level. Btw they have never used a mac. None of them! Its all windows back here. So again...any tips? my seminar should be detailed, but it will be only 30 minuets. thanks again.

5. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

Internally, there's not going to be much difference in the actual components.

Design-wise, the unibody design is very nice for both structural stability and maintenance, but that doesn't have anything to do with the electronics.

The software-hardware integration is nice, but there's not much to say, since it's just the result of knowing exactly what hardware your OS will be running on and optimizing for it.