MBP iSight camera not working

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Watabou, May 14, 2009.

  1. Watabou macrumors 68040

    Watabou

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    Right, whenever I start Photobooth or iChat, it shows up the no camera icon or it says that the camera isn't attached.

    What went wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Do a SMC reset. That usually fixes that problem.
     
  3. Watabou thread starter macrumors 68040

    Watabou

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #3

    It's still showing up the no camera icon. Does this mean that the camera is possibly faulty and needs replacing?
     
  4. Minimoose 360 macrumors 65816

    Minimoose 360

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    It could be. People will keep posting telling you to reset things, but it probably is something to do with hardware. The USB connector is probably loose or disconnected.
     
  5. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #5
    Yeah, if SMC reset doesn't work, then it's a hardware fault.
     
  6. Watabou thread starter macrumors 68040

    Watabou

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    It's a built in iSight. Not the USB one.

    I'll try to go to the Apple Store then, and see what they say.
     
  7. moiety macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #7
    Even though it's built-in, it's still connected through USB. Just open System Profiler. If the iSight is recognized, it will show up in the USB device tree.
     
  8. Watabou thread starter macrumors 68040

    Watabou

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    Okay. Well this is what shows up in my USB tree. Which one of them is the iSight?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. youssefm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #9
    The iSight isn't listed, so if an smc reset didn't work (make sure you did it correctly) then it is a hardware issue such as a loose or faulty cable. Take it to an apple store or call applecare to resolve the issue

    and btw, when it is listed it has the name iSight in it, so you'll be able to tell which one it is clearly
     
  10. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    That's just it; it's not listed. Call Apple or schedule an appointment with your local store.
     
  11. moiety macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #11
    Like everyone else is saying, it would be the one named iSight. Since you have no iSight entry in the list, it's broken. Take it to the Apple Store for a fix.

    My brother's MacBook had the same issue. They switched it out same-day and everything was peachy once more. Should be a quick fix.
     
  12. DRob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #12
    I had a possibly similar problem a little while back, maybe not. Never checked to see if iSight was showing up in system profile or not. But resetting the PRAM worked for me. Not sure how similar that is to an SMC reset, but might want to try that if you haven't already.
     
  13. anirban macrumors 6502a

    anirban

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #13
    If the iSight has malfunctioned, they will be replacing the entire top lid, including the display.

    And as others mentioned, it certainly seems like a hardware fault.
     
  14. Watabou thread starter macrumors 68040

    Watabou

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #14
    Allright. I booked an appointment with the Apple Store. I'll post back here what happens.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page