MBP (March 2015) to 2 24" displays

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Darryl.Jenks, Nov 8, 2016.

  1. Darryl.Jenks macrumors member

    Darryl.Jenks

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Location:
    Self-absorbed
    #1
    Greetings Friends.

    I'm the proud owner of a refurb MBPr (March 2015), having been disappointed by the new version's lackluster keyboard. It's my first Mac, and I'm really enjoying it so far.

    I have a dual 24" monitor set up in my home office (Dell U2415H), and would like to use the larger displays with the MBP in closed/clamshell mode. I know I can use a Bluetooth keyboard and trackpad, but would one of you please recommend your preferred cable/adapter for connecting the dual displays? Should I utilize the MBP's HDMI out plus another port, or is splitting one of the Thunderbolt ports into 2 HDMI, DisplayPort or miniDisplayPort cables better?

    Thanks in advance for your help. I appreciate it.
     
  2. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #2
    Depends on your resolution to some extent. In my opinion, HDMI is a TV protocol that's inferior to DisplayPort. I would use DP to drive your monitors. Your MBP should have two TB ports and can easily drive two monitors.
     
  3. Darryl.Jenks thread starter macrumors member

    Darryl.Jenks

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Location:
    Self-absorbed
    #3
    Thank you, Tomorrow, for your advice. I'll go the two-cable route; one each from the TB ports to the DP inputs on the monitors.

    To your knowledge is there a viable splitter option, or should I resign myself to using both TB ports? I see a few online that produce two mirrored displays, but I'm seeking to extend the desktop, not mirror it.
     
  4. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #4
    As far as I'm aware, there are splitters that will let you use a single TB port to drive multiple monitors using either DVI or VGA, but in order to go DisplayPort or HDMI, you would need to use two ports. There's also the possibility of buying TB monitors and daisy-chaining them to a single port.

    This is just from a quick search on the web and in the MR forums, and may not be comprehensive or correct.
     

Share This Page