MBP Multi-Touch trackpad+ MBP Santa Rosa

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by marco007, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. marco007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #1
    if i buy new MB TopCase and install to my older 2.4ghz Santo Rosa MBP.
    Toes it work ?
     
  2. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #2
    it's not the trackpad...its the drivers that make it multitouch..apple could make all our macbooks and macbook pros multitouch but they aren't releasing the drivers to do so b\c they want us to go out and buy a new computer.
     
  3. joefinan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames, UK
    #3
    I heard that it needed the multi-touch chip - the same one that's found in the iPhone/Touch, Air and new MBP.

    It's not just the trackpad and software.
     
  4. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    correct

    the drivers idea was an older theory since disproved
     
  5. marco007 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #5
    if it needs only trackpad and software, there is no problem :D
    but if motherboard have multi-touch chip.. :(
     
  6. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #6
    really?

    you'd think if they went to all the trouble of adding a multitouch chip they'd add more than 3 gestures......

    pressing apple + r and rotating your fingers isn't much of a stretch

    the only one i'd use is the forward/backward one
     
  7. rezonat0r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #7
    They will.
     
  8. honeycrisp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #8
    You are correct sir!
     

Share This Page