MBP not appearing to boot into 64bit

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BornToMac, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. BornToMac macrumors 6502a

    BornToMac

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys, I have a late 2010 MBP and am trying to boot into 64bit. I have held down the "6" and "4" keys while booting but am still coming up with "64-bit Kernel and Extensions: No" when I check in the system profiler. I had no problems booting into 64bit with my early 2008 MBP. ANy suggestions? Oh, and I am on 10.6.6.

    Thanks!
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Whats listed within Activity Monitor? Screen shot 2011-02-01 at 19.47.54.png Look for the 64bit on the right hand side.
     
  3. BornToMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    BornToMac

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #3
    It is showing 64bit listed next to several applications. However, I thought that meant those apps could run in 64bit. When I check the 64 bit kernal to see if the machine is running in 64bit, I am still seeing this...

    [​IMG]
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    That means the apps are actually 64-bit and running 64-bit, as that does not require the 64-bit kernel
     
  5. BornToMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    BornToMac

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #6
    Thank you LPZ for the link, but the article doesn't explain why I am not booting into 64bit after following those instructions. I am already aware of how to boot into 64bit. I am trying to troubleshoot why it doesn't appear to have booted into 64 bit after following Apple's instructions.
     
  6. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #7
    My point was to suggest that you try Method 2.

    Out of curiosity, what do get from

    Code:
    nvram -p
    entered into Terminal?
     
  7. BornToMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    BornToMac

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #8
    The terminal command to boot 64 bit by default worked. I am trying to figure out why the "hot keys" method doesn't work.

    What in particular are you looking for in the nvram -p? I got a long string of numbers and some other info.
     
  8. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #9
    I was wondering if
    Code:
    boot-args="arch=i386"
    appeared in the output. But after testing on my own system, it seems that the 6-4 keys at startup would override this in any case. So I too am perplexed as to why the 6-4 keys are not being recognized.

    Are you using an Open Firmware password to disable various startup actions? (I don't think this matters either, since I doubt this restricts booting the 64-bit kernel.)
     
  9. BornToMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    BornToMac

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #10
    I am using a firmware password but tried to bypass it by entering the password, then holding the 6 and 4 keys when booting from the hd. Still launched in 32bit mode. Now I just want to get to the bottom of it for the sake of solving the puzzle.
     
  10. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #11
    Interesting. Please let us know the solution, when you find it.
     
  11. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #12
    i believe the password disables any boot arguments.
     
  12. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #13
    This is what I wondered about, but I couldn't confirm it.
     

Share This Page