MBP not booting - 3 beeps

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by maxchains155, May 1, 2009.

  1. maxchains155 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #1
    I replaced my the RAM in my MBP with 2 2GB DDR2-800. I then found that DDR2-800 is not compatible with my MBP and it didn't boot. So I put back the RAM that came with my MBP in. But now my MBP doesn't even boot... It emits 3 beeps, seconds later it emits another 3 beeps again.

    My MBP is the early 2008 model, 17-inch.

    Can anybody help me please because my warranty is over.
     
  2. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    Here is the article about what the beeps mean.

    Try reseating your RAM. If this works, then buy the RAM you need from Newegg if you are in the US. If it doesn't work, then you have a hardware issue. You can get a set for $39.99 plus 2% cash back.
     
  3. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #3
    Startup beeps on a Mac generally mean a RAM problem.

    Becareful when you reseat the RAM to avoid any damage.
     
  4. maxchains155 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #4
    Okay, I have reseated, but it is still not booting.

    I think I properly have damaged the RAM or the worst case, the MBP...
     
  5. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #5
    Put your original ram back in and see if it works. If it does, you have bad ram, my friend.

    If it doesn't, pull it out and look at the connections where the ram goes. A magnifying glass may help. Does any of the brass connections look like they're bent up or down? If so, you have damaged the slot.

    GOOD LUCK!
     
  6. maxchains155 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #6
    Okay... I have checked, and the slot is not damaged.

    The problem is that the MacBook Pro beeps when I put the origianal RAM in, and it doesn't boot when I put the DDR2-800 RAM in.

    Ed: So I ordered a set of RAM recommended by brop52, I will see if it works when it gets arrived.
     
  7. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #7
    If it's not working with the original ram, then I think it's one of two problems:

    1. You're not correctly reseating the original ram.

    2. The ram slot is damaged, even though you're not seeing it.

    If the newest ram doesn't fix it, I'd take it into a local 3rd party authorized repair center to have them check it out.
     
  8. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Why did you buy new RAM if your original RAM doesn't work? You should run the Apple Hardware test in the meantime if it boots at all.

    Good luck with the new RAM. If something does go wrong definitely put the original RAM back in before repair. Unfortunately if there was damage to the slots you may be out of luck for a warranty.
     
  9. maxchains155 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #9
    I got my RAM arrived, and so I put that in... Thankfully my MBP worked again! I don't know how my original RAM is damaged, but now I am running good at 4GBs of RAM. Thanks everybody! :D
     
  10. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11
    I have to say I'm surprised but glad it works. Let us know if anything does go wrong. Maybe you should try the original RAM on someone else's notebook that takes the DDR2 PC2-5300 RAM.

    One recommendation I failed to mention was to attempt a PRAM reset. Sometimes that zaps the hardware back into proper functioning. You do it by holding down command-option-p-r at startup until it chimes twice then allowing it to boot normally.
     

Share This Page