MBP now? Question about specs...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ChitoCrisis, Feb 13, 2013.

1. ChitoCrisis, Feb 13, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2013

ChitoCrisis macrumors member

Hello everyone. I am strongly considering buying the new 15 inch MacBook Pro. My current MBP from late 2008 doesn't cut it anymore; I got a prompt saying I'll have to replace the battery soon, the usb, firewire, and minidisplay ports don't work either. Surprisingly my MBP still holds well and don't have any issues with performance.

In the past 2 years I've been thinking about buying a Mac Pro but I've been waiting for the upcoming upgrade. I am not sure if I need a Mac Pro to be honest but I like the idea of having a work station plus I'll be able to upgrade it if I ever have to. I'm majoring in 3d graphics and animation. I haven't stumbled upon any real performance issues with my current MBP though so I'm sure the new MBP will be more than enough.

Anyways, I'm not very tech savvy, so do you think I'll need 16gb of ram? I definitely plan on playing some games on it but I don't know why anyone would need that much ram in the first place. Software I use regularly are Photoshop, Flash, and Maya. I may look into video editing in the near future and I'm pretty sure the ram will help.

I'd like to upgrade storage capacity as well but its expensive considering its flash memory. But I guess I can always delete data (such as games that will take up the most space) when I stop using it.

What do you guys think? Do you recommend getting a MBP now or should I continue waiting for the Mac Pro? I think I'll end up getting both eventually but at the moment I don't use my MBP on the go. I think I will as it will help me get work done outside my home (where there are many distractions).