mbp or desktop

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hachirou, Mar 16, 2012.

1. Hachirou macrumors newbie

Hi

so i started with a desktop, i7 2600k, 8gb ram n a 2gb gtx560 ti. however it has been the most unreliable system i have ever had and caused me so many problems, i am currently still trying to get a refund on this machine.

i am a student studying 3d modelling & animation, i use 3ds max, maya, premiere pro, photoshop cs5.1, mudbox etc

my parents and my brother all say i should get a MBP so i can take my work home with me easily and have a reliable laptop.

so do you think a MBP will do the job? at the moment i can only take work home with me if someone is available to drive up to me as i sold my car. so the mobility of the laptop will be a bonus but will the sacrifice in spec hurt?

i should probably say that i will most likely need to dual boot windows on there.

2. -MRB macrumors 6502

Sacrafice in spec?

i7 + 8GB RAM + 6770M + 7200RPM = No compromise.

It will easily handle anything you throw at it :) (MBP that is)

3. Hachirou thread starter macrumors newbie

would you say 15" > 17" as i already have a 32" screen that i work on, though i have been wanting dual screen for using image ref on one screen while i work on the other. not sure if a MBP can handle this and my funds cant handle that yet anyway :p

will having windows on it affect the performance at all? n is buying now an ok time? or are apple going to release a new one soon, i know how they like to update yearly.

4. negativzero macrumors 6502

Dual screens will work just fine. I suggest going for a 15" and trick it out with more ram and a SSD. Working at home with this is no problem :)

5. throAU macrumors 601

throAU

the 15 and 17 inch MBPs are a monster machine at the moment.

My 15" is more than capable of running current 3d games in boot camp, and is faster than any other machine i have ever used, desktop or not for video encoding, etc.