MBP or Lenovo for development?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jstad, Mar 22, 2008.

1. jstad macrumors regular

jstad

I am selling my Vostro 1400 and picking up a better laptop for software development. I am curious what your thoughts are when it comes to MBP development. Currently I am debating between the June 2007 revision of the MBP (2.2GHz, 8600 w/ 128MB). The only concern I have is the low resolution screen. I used to own a MB and the resolution was a concern (1280x800) and 1440x900 on the MBP does not seem to be a large improvement. The lenovo has a 1680x1050 option which isnt available in the 15" MBP.

So for any developers out there, is the screen resolution a problem for you? The problem I run into on 1280x800 is when multiple windows are open (MSDN documentation, Visual Studio or Textmate, Safari) things become cluttered very quickly.

2. Azmordean macrumors 6502

I am not a developer, but several of my best friends are. One of them uses an MBP and loves it. He loves it because he can run all three OSes - Windows, OS X, and Linux - on the same computer - and a portable computer at that. As a developer, he finds that highly useful for cross-platform testing, and because he develops for different OSes depending on the project he is working on.

As for the resolution, for serious development, I'd just pick up an external screen. The DELL UltraSharp series is good, and not that expensive. Then, get a laptop stand, and you can dual monitor with the laptop LCD and the external. That will eliminate the 1440x900 problem, and, for the rare times you do need to "code on the go," I think the 1440x900 will be okay. If you code on the go a lot, you might consider the 17" with a 1920x1200 screen.

The ThinkPad is a great laptop, and may be a great choice if you do all Windows development. But otherwise, I think the MBP offers a lot of flexibility that programmers and IT professionals find exceedingly valuable.

3. matperk macrumors 6502