MBP purchasing decision debate

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rigberg, Feb 24, 2011.

1. rigberg macrumors newbie

Hello everyone,

This is my first post as a member of the forum, I am conflicted in posting because I am sure that the forums will become inundated with individuals asking similar questions, though I think my situation is somewhat unique and would appreciate the advice/suggestions of the knowledgeable members of the board.

First, a little history. I've been wanting a Mac laptop for a good while now, maybe 2 or 3 years. I could never justify buying one because my I have had no problems with my current computer (which is very old but still functional), which is like a 2006 Toshiba with 1GB (upgraded) RAM and a laughable graphics card...laugh it up. SO, I promised myself that when I finished my graduate degree, I would reward myself with the computer I've wanted for a while. I graduated May 2010 and have yet to purchase. When I visited the Apple store around my graduation date, I believe the, just passed, Macbook Pros were about halfway through their life cycle. I was mainly interested in the 13" version because I didn't feel comfortable sitting in front of the 15", I don't know, the 13" "felt" more appropriate for me. I decided against the 13" at the time because I had a feeling it would be updated soon and I didn't want to regret missing out on the "latest and greatest" if it would be updated soon. Also, I was disappointed that the 13" did not utilize the i3 chip like the other models did. So I told myself to wait for the refresh, which I have been, patiently. All the while, reading people's opinion's on this message board.

With the exciting news of the refresh happening today, I find myself more confused and conflicted than excited because of the extreme opinions many people have. To get to the point, I will explain my anticipated uses of the computer:

Internet surfing/downloading/listening to music
    Word Processing/editing