MBP Question?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JP89Hornet, Jun 6, 2007.

?

When should I buy?

Poll closed Aug 5, 2007.
  1. Now

58.8%
  2. Start of SR. Year (Sept)

5.9%
  3. October (New OS)

11.8%
  4. Christmas (Dec)

5.9%
  5. Next Spring

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Next Summer

17.6%
  1. JP89Hornet macrumors regular

JP89Hornet

I am a Senior in High School (Class of 2008) My parents are planning to invest in the computer of my choice to last me "ALL THE WAY" through college. I wanted to wait till christmas so I would have the new OS, LED Display, iLife '07, etc... but my current computer ('03 Toshiba Satellite A20 XP) has almost given out and I need a new computer soon. I was wondering a few things:

1) I am a college student at our local Jr. College and I get the Apple discount, and at the Univ. I want to go to they offer "HUGE" discounts on software, should I wait till Oct. for the new OS? Does Apple offer a free "Upgrade Timeline" like Vista did with ppl that bought a computer 1 mo. in advance?

-If I wait I will be giving up a "FREE IPOD"!!! (Offer ends in Sept.) :(

2) Should I get a 15.4" or 17"? :confused:

3) Glossy or Matte? :confused:

4) Should I wait on the Blue Ray Disc MBP? :confused:

I am just asking on peoples opinions, this will be my first mac, my dad has used PC's his entire life :mad: , but I just think I will enjoy a mac alot better!!! :rolleyes:

Thanks for your help!!! :D

-- :apple: Jake :apple:

2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

"Should I wait on the Blue Ray Disc MBP? "

You're talking about a feature that may not even come...You could be waiting forever. 15 vs 17 is preference, what would you be using it for? Search for glossy vs matte, tons of threads... I'd say loosing $200 rebate towards an iPod is worth it if I were to wait and get the computer I really wanted.

3. ibell63 macrumors newbie