MBP ram upgrade clarification

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by evilsheepy, May 6, 2008.

1. evilsheepy macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I'm planning on purchasing a new MBP sometime within the next week or so, and I'm a Final Cut editor so I want as much ram as possible, but I'd rather upgrade myself and save the money than buy the 4gb straight away.

Anyway, a few quick Google searches later, and now I'm seeing stuff about a 3gb limitation if you do it yourself. Is this true? I'll admit I'm somewhat ignorant when it comes to hardware, but I can't see how the MBP would be setup so that Apple can upgrade it to 4gb but the user can only go to 3. I found a guide on Apple's site that explains how to install ram upgrades, so I assume that wouldn't void your warranty, but is there some kind of weird loophole about the size of the upgrade that they won't let you go past 3?

I'd appreciate it if someone could clarify this for me. As ridiculous as $200 for a 2gb ram upgrade sounds, if the only way I can get 4gb of ram is to get it from Apple, that's probably what I'll do...

2. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

UltraNEO*

I think when you google, you're being shown all the MBP's not the newer SantaRosa based ones. Yes... Older MBP were limited to 3GB RAM max, however this isn't anything to do with user upgrades or manufacturer's upgrade. They we're limited to 3Gb due to the older chipset addressing ability.

All new MB and MBP support 4GB, though... the SantaRosa chipset is supposed to support a maximum of 8GB RAM. Unfortunately 4GB SO-DIMS sticks are rare and costly, so no-one have managed to test this 8GB theory but your welcome to give it a bash.

3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

On new Core2Duo MacBooks, MBP and iMacs, you can absolutely go to 4 GB with third party RAM.

Have a look under the Guides tab at the top of this window.
    Guides: Hardware: Understanding Intel Mac RAM

4. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod