MBP Refurb 2.4ghz i5 vs. 2.8ghz c2d

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by brushedred, Nov 23, 2010.

1. brushedred macrumors newbie

Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.4GHz Intel Core i5
    15.4-inch LED-backlit glossy widescreen display (1440 x 900 pixel)
    4GB (2 x 2GB) of 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM
    320GB Serial ATA @ 5400 rpm
    8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M graphics processor with 256MB of GDDR3 memory
    $1529

Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    17-inch high-resolution LED-backlit antiglare widescreen display
    4GB memory
    500GB hard drive
    8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    ExpressCard/34 slot
    Built-in 8-hour battery
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT with 512MB
    Illuminated keyboard
    $1799

Which would be the better choice? Is the price difference justifiable?

I am a photographer so I do a lot of tethered shooting through capture one and a lot of photo editing in Photoshop. I have an eizo 24" external display I can hook up to but I feel the 17" with its high resolution and anti glare would be useful for location shoots so my question: Is the higher price and old technology worth it for the bigger antiglare screen and bigger harddrive for what I am using it for?

2. dr endospore, Nov 23, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2010

dr endospore macrumors newbie

dr endospore

I'd say 15-inch

If you do tethered shooting, the more portable, the better, and 15-inch isn't too bad for that. You'll definitely need the 330M graphics if you're using heavy Photoshop, especially for stuff like HDR. Antiglare is nice, but not really necessary, especially since that can be solved with an antiglare screen protector, and the hi-resolution screen on the 15-inch will be great for photo viewing. Plus, you get a cheaper computer too!