MBP retina graphics on the go?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rickvanr, Mar 6, 2014.

  1. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
  2. nickandre21 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #2
    Thats the screen flickering issue if i am right it used to happen to some people while using 5ghz wifi either ways its most likely a hardware issue and you need to get apple to fix it. Just show them the video you recorded.
     
  3. atticus27 macrumors regular

    atticus27

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    that happened on my old mbp. It was a loose cable in the display panel. When I pinched it on the left side it would reconnect and work properly (until I shut it again). Ifixit should have a tutorial on how to repair it if your out of apple care. It's a $2 cable.
    If your still under warranty take it to a mac, store so you don't have to worry about messing anything up
     
  4. rickvanr thread starter macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #4
    Thanks. I'm still under warranty so if SMC and PRAM resets don't do anything I'll be making a trip to the Apple Store I suppose.
     
  5. rickvanr thread starter macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #5
    Hey

    It's ended up being a hardware issue. Just curious with how Apple repairs retina MBPs. I've read everything is glued/ soldered together so I'm assuming they can't easily open it up and swap logic boards. Can they simply swap? Or do they replace the whole unit like an iPhone/ iPod? Just curious how extensively I should back up and what to expect when I get to the Apple Store. Thanks
     
  6. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #6
    I would think it will be a logic board replacement. As for a back up you should always have a backup that covers everything you care about so it shouldn't be a question here. ;)
     
  7. rickvanr thread starter macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #7
    I meant more as in will I get this machine back or should I clear my drive before sending it in.
     
  8. Barney63 macrumors 6502a

    Barney63

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Bolton, UK.
    #8
    They aren't sealed. A logic board replacement is straight forward. They will also put your existing SSD back in.



    Barney
     

Share This Page