MBP Retina or Macbook Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mt8888, Apr 8, 2013.

1. mt8888 macrumors newbie

Hi everyone. I plan to buy a new macbook very soon. I am a college student who will use the laptop for research, word processing, web surfing, music, and slight photo editing. I originally thought the MB Air was best for me due to the portability and cheaper price tag. However, with a student discount and the recent price drop from Apple, I can get the MBP Retina for less than $200 more. But, I am hearing things such as ghosting, lagging, and fan noises with the Retina and feel that the MB Air is the safer choice. Any thoughts or advice? Is the Retina worth it? Is buying an Air still worth it? Thanks.

2. motoracer1486 macrumors 6502a

The Air is amazingly portable. I have a regular MBP and an Air, and I use my Air way more.

3. pmcneil macrumors newbie

From this thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=17113268

4. Gator Bob macrumors regular

I sold my 13" MacBook Air and bought a 15" Retina MacBook Pro. Both are wonderful. The Air was sufficient to my needs and the Pro is even wonder- fuller. The Air is far more portable but the Pro is portable enough. If I felt like throwing more money at my wishes, I'd own both. I already own a ipad 3 and min-ipad.

5. rpg51 macrumors 6502

rpg51

I gave my 13 inch Air to my wife and bought a rMBP 13. The rMBP 13 is an extremely compact and portable little computer but it is also much more robust than the air in every way. I think the difference is like night and day really, especially the screen and the ruggedness of the whole package. The air seems almost like a toy now when I set it on my lap. The rMBP is perfect for me and it actually has a slightly smaller footprint than the Air.

6. Devilcup, Apr 9, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013

Devilcup macrumors newbie

Was considering Air and rMBP 13"