MBP running hot after upgrading to Yosemite

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by mutts, Nov 4, 2014.

  1. mutts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #1
    I never heard the fan go on the MBP or even feel the laptop get hot but since I I updated to Yosemite the MBP runs hot no matter what I'm doing.

    Any help appreciated.

    Late 2013 MacBook Pro
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Open Activity Monitor and look in the CPU tab then sort by %CPU and see if you have anything showing there using high CPU cycles.

    It sounds like you may have an app or utility conflicting with Yosemite.
     
  3. mutts thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Yeah... that would heat things up and make the fans run. How about quit Firefox and use Safari for a day and see if things get better.
     
  5. NoBoMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #5
    As Weaselboy said, try different browser.

    Also: disable extensions in Firefox to see if better. If so, reenable extensions one at a time to see which one might be problem.

    What are in the tabs? Some Java applet running amok? Some overly complex Flash site?
     
  6. mutts thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #6
    Ok, I think Firefox was not the main culprit. The main process seems to be something called 'google chrome helper' which is unresponsive and hogging 80% of CPU. I have repeatedly stopped the process but comes back.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    That normally only is running when you have the Chrome browser actually running? Do you have Chrome launched?
     
  8. mutts thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #8
    Yes, absolutely. Just need to work out why its using all free CPU.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Do any of the Chrome tabs you have open happen to be on a Flash page? That really sucks up the CPU%.
     

Share This Page