MBP Santa Rosa, upgrade to 4gb?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by makasin, Dec 4, 2007.

  1. makasin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys I have a 2.4ghz 15 inch SR MBP with 2gigs of ram. Is there any point in upgrading my ram to 4GB?
    I usually use quicktime, itunes, safari, mail, adium, quicksilver which are pretty much always open.
    However, I am thinking about using parallels and using windows XP or Vista over that because ive got some Electrical Engineering programs I need windows for. Do you think parallels will see a good improvement? What about without parallels, is there any point? I hear OSX does a pretty good job of caching programs and making use of your memory, so could I expect some sort of battery life increase?
     
  2. ob81 macrumors 65816

    ob81

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #2
    I have the same system as you and I decided to bump up to 3gb. I would definitely do it if I used parallels, and if you use Quicktime Pro export features I would do it. The 2GB sticks are very cheap and the extra gig would give a big improvement to your system. Just sell the 1gb stick here.
     
  3. iMan G5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #3
    If you install 4 GB of 2x2GB sticks you will get Dual Channel Memory or something called like that. It adresses the ram faster I think and shows a few % performance increase then 2 and a 1 GB stick.
     
  4. superleccy macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #4
    If your machine is fast enough for you, then don't upgrade in a hurry. The longer you leave it, the cheaper it will get.

    For what you're using it for now, 2GB is fine.

    As for Parallels... install Parallels and your Windows stuff first, and if it's too slow for you, then get another 2GB.

    SL
     
  5. LoneWolf121188 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #5
    Agreed. I can run photoshop and FCP with no problems on my system. On the windows side, Flight Sim X and Supreme Commander run great.
     
  6. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #6
    Wrong. Unless of course you can read the future? DDR3 is making its way to the new standard, as soon as it does, expect DDR2 prices to rise. RAM is very cheap NOW - like you can get 4GB for about $100. In my mind, there is no reason NOT to get 4GB of RAM NOW.

    Take your pick, just make sure to get PC2 5300 667Mhz

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...E&N=2010260381 1309121116&bop=And&Order=PRICE
     
  7. superleccy macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #7
    You see no reason for the OP not to buy something he's not sure that he needs? You have a golden future ahead of you in marketing, sir.

    SL
     
  8. alljunks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    #8
    4gb kit is cheap now..u should just get it and not worry about it!!
     
  9. makasin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #9
    purchasing ram faster than pc5300 wont yeild any performance benefits?
     
  10. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #10
    Umm, did you not see where he mentioned parallels with Vista? Vista likes AT LEAST 1GB of RAM allocated to it, even virtually. That would leave him with 1GB for OS X. You sir, don't read very well.
     
  11. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
  12. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #12
    None whatsover.
     
  13. makasin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #13
    I didnt think so. Well I think im gonna eventually (soon) take the plunge into 4gb.
     
  14. weblogik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    #14


    Wow! thanks for the link i just bought 2x2gig sticks for my 2.6 mbp which should be here anytime ! $80 including shipping! great price :)
     
  15. superleccy macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #15
    Okay, I didn't realise it had got that cheap. Apologies to nikhsub1.

    SL
     
  16. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #16
    No problem mate ;) Wow, $80 shipped for 4GB is pretty unheard of! When I checked earlier it was $39.99 per 2GB stick, now it is $36.99. Go figure why Apple is charging over 8 times this price?
     
  17. spank2223 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #17
    which manufacture have you had success with? I was think about g-skill for 80$ for 4gig. SHould I?
     
  18. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #18
    That's exactly the ram im running in my MBP... 4GB of G.Skill
     
  19. spank2223 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #19
    damn all sold out. Anyone recommend any other brand from that link above? Thanks
     

Share This Page