MBP: Slowdown from 30inch Display?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by doctoree, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. doctoree macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Secret lair/ Earthmiddlepoint
    #1
    I plan to buy a 30inch ACD Display (once they are updated) for my Penryn MBP.
    Will using such a huge resolution significantly slow down the machine?
    (I know it will be very slow to run games, especially newer games in higher settings, but my question is related to standard operations like FCP, Photoshop)

    Maybe someone with this setup could run a quick test for me:

    Without external display: Open Photoshop and run the radial blur filter on a very high res pic, write down the time. And then repeat this process with the huge external display connected.

    I assume the performance hit will exist but will be quite small.

    As always, I have used Google's and McRumor's search prior to posting.

    Doc
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I didn't find any slowdown. I just couldn't bear the sudden and enormous increase in fan noise on the MBP.
     
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    Out of interest - did you stack your MacBook Pro when the lid shut vertically (i.e. exhaust in the air, slot-drive facing down)?

    I too noticed when I connected my MacBook Pro to my HDTV that it would like to make itself known in the room, so I closed the lid and stacked it vertically, and the fans slowed to idle, and there was a temperature drop too.
     
  4. doctoree thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Secret lair/ Earthmiddlepoint
    #4
    And what is causing the heat?
     
  5. tardinha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #5
    i have a 17" 2.4ghz MBP and a 30" ACD...

    there's no slowdown at all, and no extra fan noise.

    no anything except a wide expance of loveliness!!!
     
  6. doctoree thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Secret lair/ Earthmiddlepoint
    #6
    Cool, thats what I initially expected. Lets see if somone can confirm this.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    I don't have 30", but I don't see why there would be slowdowns. It's the GPU that's working. Also any slowdowns maybe display graphics such as games [at full resolution].
     
  8. Powermax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #8
    Did you use a stand to stack it, and if - which?
     
  9. Hydramus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #9
    I have a 15" 2.4GHz with the 30" ACD and notice no slow down at all. Also my fans stay at 2000 rpm so no noise either. I have my MPB open so I can use the other screen at the same time.

    Agreed with the wide expanse of loveliness, once you go 30" you never go back!
     
  10. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #10
    Something along the lines of this

    [​IMG]
     
  11. winninganthem macrumors 6502a

    winninganthem

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
  12. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    I had this setup for a while also.

    I think there is extra demand on the GPU, so a little more heat is generated. I found using clamshell mode made the fans rev up to audible levels, but were not much of an issue when the notebook was open.

    There might be a difference between the 17 and 15 (I had the 15) with respect to surface area to dissipate heat.

    Edit: and to answer your original question, I found no appreciable slowdown even using extended desktop (splitting the VRAM between the ACD & MBP), although did not use graphic-intensive apps.
     
  13. doctoree thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Secret lair/ Earthmiddlepoint
    #13
    Thanks for all your answers guy's!!

    I will be using the display of my MBP additionally to the large 30inch. I don't pay that much for a machine and then not use it's screen and it's also good for your eye's if you change your focal point every once in a while (from one screen to another slightly behind it)
     

Share This Page