MBP (SR) + External Monitor: wrong resolution!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by flowagner, Feb 25, 2008.

  1. flowagner macrumors member

    flowagner

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #1
    Hello fellas!

    I have this problem since I installed OS X 10.5.2. but not instantly after the installation. It just happened randomly from one day to the other:

    When I connect my MBP to my external monitor (Samsung Syncmaster 245B, resolution 1920x1200 native), I only get 1440x900 out on the external monitor. It show up as "Monitor 2" instead of "Samsung Syncmaster".

    I don't know what happened but as I tested the monitor with my sister's MB (still Tiger on it), it worked just fine. And I just checked if my MBP works with another monitor (some HP 22') it worked with the native resolution plus the monitor showed up correctly.

    Anybody knows how to fix this?

    Much apreciated, thanks!
    Flo
     
  2. ssitter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #2
    ditto

    I'm having the same issue with my dell 2407fp. Just started happening. Other macs are fine.
     
  3. drifteaur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #3
    same thing - solved it

    Same issue with MBP and a Samsung 205BW.
    Delete or rename /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist - then reboot. It did the trick for me.
     
  4. guyc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #4
    same problem here, on MBP 2.4, 10.5.2 with either of 2 different 1920x1200 displays (LG and MAG).

    I deleted both /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist as well as both com.apple.windowserver.##..### files inside ~/Library/Preferences/ByHost/
    (the ##..### refers to a code, which seems like a MAC address)

    but the problem persists.

    any ideas please?
     
  5. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #5
    I thought this was fixed with the newest firmware update?

    It has happened to me twice but a restart without the external display plugged in (plug it in after login) makes it work.
     
  6. burningrave101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #6
    What if you have this problem running Windows XP? I have a Dell 2007wfp and won't display anything but 1440x900 on it over the DVI connection.
     

Share This Page