MBP stock drive has issues

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SDAVE, Aug 19, 2012.

  1. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #1
    So I've put an SSD in my 2011 MBP a while ago and used the internal stock drive as an external (750GB Toshiba drive)...the drive went kaput.

    If I want Apple to repair it, do I have to take out the SSD, put back the original RAM and put back in the stock HD and take it to the Genius bar? Sounds like more work than worth it.

    Any advice appreciated.
     
  2. theBostonian Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    #2
    You don't have to worry about the RAM, that's user replaceable.

    You would just have to put the HDD back into the Mac and then take it in.

    You should prepare to get ripped apart by the morality police on here, who will be questioning your ethics for engaging in such "chicanery" :rolleyes:
     
  3. SDAVE thread starter macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #3
    Thanks.

    I don't see nothing wrong with using the internal drive as external? The enclosure is not the cause here, the drive has bad blocks.
     
  4. nudoru macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    #4
    I'm in the same situation, but haven't done anything yet. Intersted to know how you resolve it :)
     
  5. theBostonian Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    #5
    Oh I don't see anything wrong with it either, the HDD was provided by Apple so they should replace it but the white knights on here will invariably argue that, because you had removed it and used it as an external HDD you shouldn't get a replacement via AppleCare.

    I say go for it, what's one HDD to a multi-billion dollar corporation?
     
  6. SDAVE thread starter macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #6
    I'm going to go for it and will report back :)

    Just don't want to be without a laptop for a few days.
     
  7. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    Being that the RAM and HDD are considered user replaceable parts, you may be able to call in and request a replacement drive sent to you. They can do this on some user replaceable parts. I've taken advantage of this service in the past.
     
  8. SDAVE thread starter macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #8
    Thank you I will try that.
     
  9. SDAVE thread starter macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #9
    Update, called Apple and they are shipping a drive out for replacement (called DIY service).

    Glad to see Apple has a separate call out for this kind of stuff.

    Go Apple!
     
  10. Ricanlegend macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Location:
    Bronx,Ny
    #10
    Are they making you send the old one back ?
     
  11. SDAVE thread starter macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #11
    They put a hold on my credit card for a (whopping) $310. They are sending a prepaid box with the new drive (blank slate, which I asked them to). So once I receive the new one, I put the old one back in and send it back (I assume it's UPS or FedEx) and they will drop the pending transaction on my card.
     

Share This Page