MBP Superdrive Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ViViDboarder, Jul 24, 2008.

  1. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Hello everyone. I bought my MBP right after they came out, so I am one of the few stuck without Dual Layer. I can live without it, but as any modder I think, "Why live without it?". As soon as my warranty is up I'm going to probably do some heavy work on this laptop and was wondering if there are any known dual-layer burners that will fit in the first gen 15"MBPs.
     
  2. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You might be able to get disassembled Macbook Pros on ebay for parts. People sell them like that when various critical components don't work and they don't feel like fixing it.
     
  3. ViViDboarder thread starter macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    I'm wondering if the second gen superdrives will fit at all in the first gen laptop.
     
  4. team 79 krunch macrumors member

    team 79 krunch

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Now do you even use DL?

    My issue is DL discs are still freakin' expensive!
     
  6. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #6
    Expensive for sure.

    I still to prefer to use SL DVDs.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Yeah I have about 500 SL DVDs.

    And nice avatar. ;)
     
  8. ViViDboarder thread starter macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    I found 50 DL DVD's for 50 bucks on sale at Tigerdirect.com once and capitalized on that. :D SO I've got plenty. It'd be nice because sometimes I make backups of disks that are DL and I don't like to compress or use my desktop PC.
     

Share This Page