MBP system memory ramps up on start up

khay

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 15, 2013
4
0
Hello,
I have a MBP OS X 10.8.3. Upon start up the system memory ramps all the way up to 7.99 GB out of the 8 GB loaded on my system. The only program I have put on my system is Protools 10, could possibly be the issue. It was giving issues so I uninstalled PT 10 and re-installed it, following instructions found at avid.com. I upgraded my system when an upgrade was available and it has caused my system to bug out. Not sure what to do, any help would greatly appreciated.
Thanks
 

Weaselboy

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
29,460
9,098
California
Start Activity Monitor then show all processes and sort by memory usage. That will show you which app is chewing up your memory. You might also sort by CPU usage as the app is likely consuming excess CPU cycles also.
 

khay

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 15, 2013
4
0
Its telling me core audio is about 98% cpu usage. no other apps are open other than safari and activity monitor.
 

khay

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 15, 2013
4
0
This a shot 5 min after my computer is started. I have only had this MBP for 2 months and only loaded one heavy application, Protools. All files are stored on an external hard drive. No other apps on this computer
 

Attachments

johnnnw

macrumors 65816
Feb 7, 2013
1,213
18
That's whack it page outs 5 GB's in 5 minutes with 8gb's RAM.

What browser are you using? What plug ins do you have installed?

After doing some reading it seems most people were solving this problem by doing as OS reinstall. Is that something you could do?
 

Weaselboy

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
29,460
9,098
California
Its telling me core audio is about 98% cpu usage. no other apps are open other than safari and activity monitor.
I found this site that shows how to fix the core audio CPU issue. Also, this post in the Apple support forums. Looks like a common problem.

Try the suggestions in those posts and see if it helps.
 

khay

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 15, 2013
4
0
Thank you weaselboy for the very informative link. An audio folder had been deleted and it was causing coreaudio to go crazy. All I had to do was make a new folder with terminal following the steps in the link you provided. All is back to normal. Big thanks!
 

Weaselboy

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
29,460
9,098
California
Thank you weaselboy for the very informative link. An audio folder had been deleted and it was causing coreaudio to go crazy. All I had to do was make a new folder with terminal following the steps in the link you provided. All is back to normal. Big thanks!
Glad it worked out. :)