Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

m3digi

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 5, 2011
NYC
Here's a bit of a review for anyone who cares. I would also like anyone interested in to weigh in on a few questions and thoughts I have.

I sold my MBP 17" 2009 (Matte, 2.66GHz, 4GB, 500GB 7200RPM) recently. I got my MBA 11.6, 1.4", 128GB, 4GB in December but haven't used it very much. I bought it for a holiday trip since I do lots of photography while traveling. It fits in my camera bag, which makes for one less thing to carry through an airport, and to forget (Yeah, almost lost my MBP a couple of times on a travel excursion... long story.)

Anyway, I've made the full transition from MBP to MBA. Here are some details around the transition.

Hard drive

I was using about 120GB on the MBP. I've transferred my iTunes library (21 GB) to my Synology NAS (2 TB) and have the MBA playing music and syncing from there.

My documents folder was also quite sizeable. Also moved to the Synology NAS. I use Dropbox for syncing important and recent docs between MBA and iPhone. Synology also has a number of tools that allow me to access and manage files remotely.

CPU

I take lots of photos. I have my Adobe Lightroom library on my MBA managing about 26,000 photos stored on my Synology. Browsing and managing photos on the MBA is faster than the MBP. Interesting.

The same holds true for photo editing. The MBA is far more snappy than my MBP for photo editing. I'm quite surprised.

Also, the MBA doesn't get nearly as hot as my MBP when performing these tasks.

Display

I had the anti-glare screen on my MBP. The glossy MBA screen has not been an issue so far. It's calibrated so I feel comfortable with it for quick photo editing. It's still taking some getting used to, but overall very good. I plan to get a 24" external monitor for more serious photo editing.