MBP to my LCD tv through XP- HOW?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by JoshLV, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. JoshLV macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #1
    I got the VGA cord and connected my MBP to my Vizio LCD tv. Nothing is showing up! Help please :)
     
  2. JoshLV thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #2
    To be more specific, the cable is a DVI to VGA male male cable.
     
  3. JoshLV thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  4. JoshLV thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  5. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #5
    Right click on the desktop, go to properties, go to the last tab and set it :)
     
  6. JoshLV thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #6
    I don't know what you mean by set it. Set it to what? :confused: Could you please explain step by step? I have never done this before.
     
  7. iwuzbord macrumors 6502

    iwuzbord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #7
    well

    press start, go to display, then click the settings tab.
    that should help
     
  8. JoshLV thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #8
    I know how to get there, but what do I do????
     
  9. iwuzbord macrumors 6502

    iwuzbord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #9
    under where it says displays, click the drop down menu thing, and then your second "monitor" , in this case your tv, should show up. click on it, then look lower and click "Extend my windows desktop onto this monitor". Then you should be set. :D:
     
  10. JoshLV thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #10
    Hmm. I have my tv and MBP connected, but it doesn't show my tv. It just shows the same thing twice.
     
  11. iwuzbord macrumors 6502

    iwuzbord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #11
    well enable the second monitor and see what happens.

    sometimes xp doesn't realize what its connected to . it just knows its connected.
    oh windows, you have so much to learn.
     
  12. JoshLV thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #12
    Well I got my wallpaper to com up. It shows only my wallpaper with no icons etc and it shows nothing when I open programs. What to do?
     
  13. JoshLV thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #13
    AHA. After some browsing I found out that I had to go into Nvidia itself, not the control panel. Thanks to all for help.
     

Share This Page