MBP to TV

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Zonita, Oct 18, 2010.

1. Zonita macrumors newbie

Hi

I've connected my MBP to my TV and now have display.

I also have a gold plated stereo adaptor and some RCA cables.

I've connected the stereo adaptor with the RCA cables to the TV via the headphone port, however there is still no sound!!!

I've gon to system preferences, sound, output, and my TV isn't there to choose from?

Thanks in advance!

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

What cable and adapter and input on your TV did you choose for video, and is the input for video the same as for audio (channel wise)? And you won't find the words "TV" in the Sound preferences, as it will not recognise a TV via an analog cable like 3.5mm to RCA.

And what TV model/brand do you have?

How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV

3. Zonita thread starter macrumors newbie

Sorry I'm not good with this stuff, I just plugged the RCA into the only thing it fitted into which said audio, I chose "PC" input on my TV which worked for the display but not for the sound.

I just meant there was no reference to a TV at all, the only option to choose from is internal speakers, and my TV is an LG flat screen ting no idea which model.

Thanks for your help.

4. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

And which adapter did you use to connect the video part of the whole shebang?
    You can find out the exact model of your TV by looking at the manual, the box or even the TV itself, it might be on the back or on the bottom though. Normally it's a black or white or silver sticker with black or white letters or maybe it is listed in the TV's menu or on the remote or even on the front.

And connecting an external speaker (which you want to use the TV for in this case) should show as Line-Out in the Sound preferences.