Mbp Trouble!!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BrandonMatt0718, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. BrandonMatt0718 macrumors member

    BrandonMatt0718

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hi, I just got my new MBP 2.2 today and I tried reinstalling OS X for a customized install and when i get to disk 2 in the middle of the install I get an error that it needs to try again every time. I even started from disk 1 again and the same thing happens when i get to disk 2... the DVDs are clean. PLEASE HELP I HAVEN'T EVEN HAD IT FOR 4 hours....:confused:
     
  2. myke323 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #2
    i don't think reinstalling the OS on a brand new machine is necessary or even wise... i know you are trying to save space but, i mean, come on it's factory installed, leave it at that, don't mess with it...

    i know this doesn't help you at all, but i just felt like making a blanket statement about people who feel the need to do this...
     
  3. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #3
    Could be a corrupt disc, call Apple and see if you can get it replaced.

    (I also don't the vast majority of people need to do OS reinstalls on their new Mac's, but nothing I say is going to stop them - and I guess this way at least you know one of your CD's doesn't work)
     
  4. BrandonMatt0718 thread starter macrumors member

    BrandonMatt0718

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Alright, I found the problem disk 2 was corrupt garage band specifically so apple is sending a new install disk.... so now I'm doing a custom install excluding garage band.

    Thanks for the help.


    Bury this.
     
  5. NtotheIzoo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    #5
    I totally agree. This is a windows thing. The first thing I do after purchasing a windows machine is a clean install, at least with XP. I actually recommend to people to do a clean install of XP...HP, Dell, Gateway all put too much useless crap on your machine...OSX on the otherhand, marvelous and clean...
     
  6. motherduce macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    Not entirely - when you can save 4-6GB by removing the extra languages, printer drivers and demos (Office, iWork, etc).

    I love OS X, but I will always do a clean install because I want it the way I want it, not the way they ship it. Most people, yes, the default is fine. But I've only got 8GB available on my 250GB iMac. Most of that would be eaten up if I hadn't done a "clean" install.

    To each his own, just wanted to clarify it's not exactly clean from the factory.

    As for the OP, who didn't really need to get lectured, I'd say call Applecare or go by the store and get a new set of disks.
     
  7. Tacos! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #7
    This happened to me once before, i wiped it on my shirt, and it worked perfectly....
     
  8. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    I have never left the original OS install in tact, have saved tons of space in the process, and have never had a problem. If you want to reclaim that enormous amount of wasted space, at birth is the time to do it.
     
  9. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #9
    I also do clean installs when getting a new computer. No way I'm going to leave it the way it is. I guess it would be great to have printer drivers from companies that I have never used (despite being big....."Brother" is one brand I have never used), and all those languages that I "might" learn some day (hooray for Swahili!!), but I'd rather save 5+ GB of space.

    I also don't install iDVD because I don't have a CD burner in my MacBook (so what's the point?), Garageband, or iMovie (although I'm sure I'd use it if I had a DVD-burner and iDVD installed). No Office Test Drive.

    That's a lot of saved space.
     
  10. BrandonMatt0718 thread starter macrumors member

    BrandonMatt0718

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    Well like I said I did the custom install and yeah things went array but the 5gs I saved was my whole music library: sense I only put the songs on my video ipod that I like and not whole albums. At least now I know that my install disk were messed up and apple is now sending the new one.. after the lady first said "We don't cover install disk." then I told her I just got it that day and she understood and said she would just go ahead and send the new one.
     

Share This Page